Are Funyuns Gluten Free? Really!

Are Funyuns Gluten Free

When we have a craving for fun onions, we eat Funyuns,don’t we? They’re not just delicious but have a distinct taste that gives our taste buds a ride of a lifetime. And everyone from every age group just loves to have them. But, if you have celiac disease, you must wonder, “Are Funyuns gluten free?”

Frito-Lay doesn’t use any gluten ingredients to make Funyuns. However, the company never stated if these onion rings are stored and manufactured in a gluten-free facility. So, due to cross-contamination issues, Funyuns may not be gluten-free.

Gluten is not the only concern in Funyuns, as each pack is full of sodium, sugar, and MSG, which are not considered great for any healthy diet. Besides, the product is full of calories. Want to know more about this delicious snack? Read on!

Are Funyuns Gluten Free?

Are Funyuns Have Gluten

From toddlers to adults, everyone loves the spicy and crunchy onion rings, especially if they are Funyuns. But you may not know that Funyuns are not made of onions but cornmeal instead, although it mimics the iconic taste and texture of traditional spicy onion rings. This is because of the onion powders, spice mixes, and texture enhancers used in Funyuns.

Funyuns are among the highest-selling products from the house of Frito-Lay, the same company that makes the delicious Lay’s chips. According to the manufacturer itself, Funyuns are not made with any gluten-rich ingredients. Although there is no gluten ingredient, the company never confirmed that the product is made and stored in gluten-free facilities. 

So, even after having no gluten ingredient in the original recipe, you can’t be 100% sure that Funyuns are gluten-free, as there is always a chance of cross-contamination. There’s a possibility that the onion rings have come in direct contact with gluten ingredients! 

Neither Funyuns nor Frito-Lay, as a brand of chips and other snacks, is not labeled as “gluten free.” It is necessary for a product to get tested and certified before it can be sold as a gluten free product in the USA.

Cross-contamination of the ingredients or the end products during manufacturing or storage is a possibility. And that will shoot the gluten count above 20 ppm, which is the permissible limit for anyone with gluten allergies or celiac diseases. So, if you are severely allergic to gluten, you should be careful about consuming Funyuns.

Are Funyuns Healthy? 

Ingredients Used In Funyuns

Besides knowing if Funyuns are gluten free or not, you also need to know if these chips are even healthy for you. In simple words, a pre-packed snack is not healthy to consume on a daily basis. However, Funyuns are made with cornmeal, a safer option than snacks made with wheat flour.

Funyuns are not greasy like other snacks in the same segment. It also doesn’t have any trace of cholesterol and saturated fats. Frito-Lay also adds vitamin B1 (Thiamine Mononitrate), B2 (Riboflavin), B3 (Niacin), B9 (Folic Acid), and ferrous acid in the cornmeal, which is the primary ingredient of Funyuns.

Besides, it uses canola or sunflower oil, a healthier option than palm oil. However, this product has MSG, which can be a concern for many people. It also contains Maltodextrin and Dextrose. And consuming these two ingredients can increase your daily sugar intake level. Besides, it contains buttermilk that can cause allergic reactions in people having lactic allergies.

A single serving of Funyuns has approximately 13 rings inside the packet. And the nutritional values are as follows:

Ingredient Quantity
Total calories 140 calories
Calories from fat 60 calories
Carbohydrate 18 grams
Fiber 0.5 gram
Protein 2 grams
Fats 7 grams
Sodium 270 mg

Funyuns also have added sugar in them. And consuming a high amount of sugar on a daily basis can cause several deadly diseases, such as diabetes and non-alcoholic fatty liver (NAFLD). So, you shouldn’t consume this snack daily.

Are Funyuns Vegan?

Are Funyuns Vegan And Healthy

There are two main variants of Funyuns currently available in the market: the original recipe and the Flamin’ Hot one. Unfortunately, both these variants of this delicious snack have milk or milk derivatives, making it not vegan by any means. Besides, both these variants also have natural flavorings. And we don’t know about the original sources of these flavoring agents.

The original Funyuns have buttermilk powder in the ingredients. Besides, the product’s label says that it contains milk ingredients. So, it is definitely not an excellent choice for vegans. Besides, it has Monosodium Glutamate (MSG), which is often derived from cheese.

On the other hand, the Flamin’ Hot Funyuns have cheddar cheese in them, making the variant inappropriate for people following a vegan diet. Besides, this product contains buttermilk and Monosodium Glutamate (MSG). So, none of the Funyuns variants available are vegan. 

Gluten Free Onion Snacks as a Replacement for Funyuns

Why Should Celiacs Avoid Gluten

Are you still wondering, “Are Funyuns gluten free?” There are several other snacks available that could be a safer bet if you are allergic to gluten or have celiac disease. And we have listed five onion ring brands that are officially certified as gluten-free.

a) Raw Food Central: This brand is not only gluten-free but also officially certified as organic, kosher, and non-GMO. A single serving (21 grams) of Organic Cashew Ranch Onion Rings from Raw Food Central has just 70 calories. Besides, it has 11 grams of carbohydrate, 2 grams of protein, and 8 grams of fat.

b) Tesco: This battered onion ring snack is officially certified as gluten-free. A single serving (100 grams) of Free From Battered Onion Rings from Tesco has just 191 calories. It also has just 4.6 grams of sugar, 10.8 grams of fat, 1 gram of saturated fat, and 340 mg of sodium.

c) Cosmos Creations: Officially certified as gluten-free, this snack comes in several different flavors. A single serving of the Sweet Maui Onion Rings from Cosmos creation has just 160 calories. Besides, it has 14 grams of carbohydrate, 2 grams of protein, 11 grams of fat, and 170 mg of sodium.

d) Ian’s All Natural: This ready-to-cook onion ring brand is officially certified as gluten-free and non-GMO. A single serving (84 grams) of this delicious goodness has just 160 calories. Besides, it has 22 grams of carbohydrate, 2 grams of protein, and 7 grams of fat, along with just 50 mg of sodium.

e) Mash Direct: These gluten-removed beer-battered onion rings are now loved by many for their iconic taste. A single serving (100 grams) of this onion ring snack has 282 calories. Besides, it has 23.9 grams of carbohydrate, 2.7 grams of dietary fiber, 10.3 grams of fat, and 2.6 grams of protein.

Gluten Free Onion Ring Recipes 

Gluten Free Funyuns Alternatives

As the snack itself is not officially certified as gluten-free even after having no gluten ingredients in the content, many people are still worried about Funyuns being gluten free or not. However, you can now make gluten-free onion rings right in your home.

Ingredients:

  • Egg whites: 1 cup (from 3 whole eggs)
  • Cheese: ½ cup (freshly grated)
  • Onion powder: 2 tsp
  • Cream of tartar sauce: ⅛ tsp

Procedure:

  • Preheat your oven until it reaches 300 F.
  • Put egg whites and cream of tartar in a mixing bowl. Whip the mix until it achieves a thick texture.
  • Add grated cheese and onion powder and mix it gently without disturbing the fluffy texture.
  • Put the mix into a Ziplock bag and cut a half-inch hole in the corner.
  • Lay a greased baking sheet in your baking tray and form rings while squeezing the mix from the bag.
  • Bake the rings in the preheated oven for at least 30 min until it becomes golden and crispy.
  • Once baked, put the rings in an airtight container and consume them within three days.

Final Words

Although there is no trace of gluten-rich ingredients on the label, Funyuns are still not officially certified as a gluten-free snack, leaving us in high doubt. Besides, it has a high amount of sodium and MSG. And consuming it daily, that too in a large quantity, can be harmful to your health.

As the company never discloses if Funyuns are manufactured and processed in a gluten-free facility, there is always a chance of cross-contamination. Besides, the product is not third-party lab tested to know about the actual gluten content. So, are Funyuns gluten free? Well, it might not be! So you must exercise caution before consuming them – or choose another brand.

FAQs

Are Funyuns safe for celiac patients?

Frito-Lay, the manufacturer of Funyuns, stated that no gluten ingredients are used in this snack. But it has never been disclosed if Funyuns are made in gluten-free facilities, leaving a chance of cross-contamination. So, Funyuns may not be safe for celiac patients or gluten intolerant people.

Are Funyuns dairy-free?

Both the variants of Funyuns, Original Recipe and Flamin’ Hot, have dairy products, as mentioned on the labels. These variants have buttermilk. Besides, the Flamin’ hot variant also uses cheddar cheese granules to give it a distinct taste. Plus, they have MSG, which might come from cheese.

Which brands of chips are gluten-free?

Both Ruffles and Lay’s from the house of Frito-Lay are considered gluten-free according to the standard set by FDA (Food and Drug Administration). And if you are searching for onion rings, Raw Food Central, Tesco, and Cosmos Creation are officially certified as gluten-free snacks.

A passionate lifestyle and food blogger making you familiar with the secrets of following a healthy diet. My passion of exploring different cuisines and different lifestyle have helped accumulate experience that’s beneficial for people following a gluten free diet.