Is Italian Dressing Gluten Free? Quick Guide

Is Italian Dressing Gluten Free

While a salad is wholesome on its own, a drizzle of Italian dressing can do wonders. People love salads because they are healthy and gluten-free, but is adding a dressing to your greens, including gluten, to the meal?

Quick Answer

Yes, most Italian dressings are gluten-free, and you can have them with your salads on a celiac diet. However, you must be careful when choosing a dressing, especially a store-bought one. 

In this article, you will find everything about Italian dressings and their gluten status. You will also explore some popular Italian dressing brands that you can trust.

What is an Italian Dressing? Is It Gluten-free?

What is an Italian Dressing

Although the recipe can vary, most Italian dressings contain water, vinegar or lemon juice, sugar or corn syrup, chopped bell peppers, vegetable oil, and a blend of numerous herbs and spices (including fennel, oregano, salt, and dill).

These thick liquids are a vinaigrette-type salad dressing in American cuisine. It’s a staple in many households and is often used for salads and marinades.

Whether Italian dressing is gluten-free depends on the specific ingredients used in the dressing:

i). Vinegar

Most types of vinegar are gluten-free. The exception is malt vinegar, which is derived from barley and is not gluten-free. However, malt vinegar is not typically an ingredient in Italian dressing.

ii). Herbs and Spices

These are generally gluten-free. However, there’s a potential risk of cross-contamination if the spices are processed in facilities that also process gluten-containing products.

iii). Additives

Some dressings might contain flavorings, colorings, or other additives that could contain gluten or be derived from gluten-containing grains.

iv). Thickeners and Stabilizers

Some commercial Italian dressings might include thickeners or stabilizers that contain gluten.

If you are gluten-sensitive, read the ingredients label to avoid any allergies. It would be great to prepare the dressing at home, as it is free from preservatives and is excellent for your health. 

Is Italian Dressing Vegan?

Is Italian Dressing Vegan

Another commonly asked question about Italian dressing revolves around its vegan status. It depends on the type of dressing you are going for. Generally, Italian dressings are vegan, but some recipes contain ingredients that are not vegan.

Always look out for these ingredients when purchasing these dressings:

1. Cheese or Dairy Derivatives

Some Italian dressings, especially those labeled “creamy” or “cheesy,” might contain parmesan cheese or other dairy derivatives.

2. Anchovies

Anchovies or anchovy paste can sometimes be found in certain dressings (like Caesar), although it’s uncommon in Italian dressing.

3. Egg Yolk

Some creamy versions of Italian dressings might use egg yolk as an emulsifier.

If you are a strict vegan, it’s essential to read the ingredient list when purchasing commercial Italian dressings or ask for the ingredient list if ordering at a restaurant. 

Alternatively, you can make your vegan Italian dressing at home using olive oil, vinegar, herbs, spices, and other vegan-friendly ingredients. 

What are Italian Dressings Used For?

The best thing about Italian dressings is that they are versatile and can be used in various culinary applications. Here are some of the common uses for Italian dressing:

What are Italian Dressings Used For

Salad Dressing

This is the most straightforward and common use. Italian dressing can be drizzled over mixed green, pasta, or bean salads.


Italian dressing makes a flavorful marinade for chicken, beef, pork, and seafood. The acid in the dressing (from vinegar or lemon juice) helps tenderize the meat, while the oil and herbs impart flavor.

Sandwich or Wrap Condiment

Instead of mayonnaise or mustard, some people like to use Italian dressing as a flavorful addition to sandwiches or wraps.

Pasta Sauce Starter

Some people use Italian dressing as a base or flavor enhancer for pasta sauces, especially for light, summery pasta dishes.

In Dips

Mix Italian dressing with cream cheese, sour cream, or yogurt to create a flavorful dip for vegetables or chips.

Bread Dipping

Mix Italian dressing with some grated Parmesan cheese, and you have a delicious dip for fresh bread. 

Given its mix of acid, oil, and seasonings, Italian dressing can be a convenient and tasty addition to many dishes. If you’re feeling creative, you can experiment with its various uses in the kitchen!

Gluten-free Italian Dressing Brands

Gluten-free Italian Dressing Brands

Here are some popular brands that offer gluten-free Italian dressings. Whether you want to drizzle it over a salad or a pizza, you will undoubtedly love them. I have also listed the top ingredients of these dressings that make them gluten-free.

1. Kraft Zesty Italian

This is one of Kraft’s most loved dressings and lives up to its “zesty” name. It is a blend of robust spices, herbs, and a slightly tangy undertone. Typically, it combines vinegar, various spices (like garlic and red pepper), and a touch of sweetness. The result is a dressing that’s both tangy and spicy.

2. Wish-Bone

Wish-Bone’s Italian dressing has been a staple in many households for years. It’s a mix of zesty herbs and spices, making for a rich and flavorful dressing. The dressing usually has a base of vinegar and oil, complemented by a mixture of garlic, onion, bell pepper, and a bouquet of other herbs and spices.

3. Newman’s Own

Founded by Paul Newman, Newman’s Own offers a range of food products, and their dressings are among the most popular. Their Italian dressing is known for its authentic taste and rich flavor profile. 

With a base of oil and vinegar, it’s enhanced with garlic, onion, and a medley of herbs, giving it a well-rounded taste.

4. Primal Kitchen

Catering to those who follow the paleo diet and value clean ingredients, Primal Kitchen’s Italian dressing emphasizes natural and healthful components. It boasts a list of organic ingredients, including apple cider vinegar, red wine vinegar, avocado oil, and a blend of organic herbs and spices.

5. Organicville

Organicville is known for providing organic and health-focused products. Their Italian dressing not only meets the needs of those looking for gluten-free options but also caters to vegans.

Made with organic ingredients, this dressing typically combines cold-pressed oils, apple cider vinegar, and a select mix of herbs and spices.

Each of these brands listed above brings a unique touch to the traditional Italian dressing, offering consumers a variety of flavor options while ensuring that they cater to the gluten-free community.

Gluten-free Italian Dressing Recipe 

If you do not like store-bought dressings, it is better to make them at home. Below is an amazing recipe you need to make delicious Italian dressing that is healthy and, most importantly, gluten-free.

Gluten-free Italian Dressing Recipe


  • 1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar (ensure it’s gluten-free)
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary, finely crushed
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 teaspoon honey or maple syrup (for vegan option)
  • 1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard (ensure it’s gluten-free)
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • A pinch of red pepper flakes (optional for some heat)

Recipe: Step-by-step

Step 1: Mix Dry Ingredients

In a small bowl, combine the dried oregano, basil, thyme, rosemary, and red pepper flakes if using.

Step 2: Add Wet Ingredients

Add minced garlic, honey (or maple syrup), and Dijon mustard to the bowl.

Step 3: Combine Vinegar and Oil

Pour in the red wine vinegar and whisk the ingredients together. Gradually add the olive oil while continually whisking to emulsify the dressing.

Step 4: Season

Add salt and pepper to taste and give it a final whisk. Do not add a lot of seasoning, as it can ruin the natural flavor of the ingredients. 

Step 5: Store and Serve

Pour the dressing into a glass jar or bottle with a tight-sealing lid. Before each use, shake well to mix. Drizzle over your salad or use it as a marinade. Enjoy!

How To Make Homemade Gluten Free Salad Dressings

Frequently Asked Questions 

Q: Is Olive Garden Italian Dressing Gluten-free?

A: Yes, Olive Garden Italian dressing is gluten-free. However, there can be a risk of cross-contamination because of other dressings prepared in the same facility.

Q: Is Ranch Dressing Gluten-free?

A: Many ranch dressings are naturally gluten-free, as the basic ingredients (mayonnaise, buttermilk, and spices) typically don’t contain gluten. (Must Read: Is Ranch Gluten-free?)

Q: Is Italian Seasoning Gluten-free?

A: Yes, Italian seasoning is gluten-free, and you can sprinkle it over the salad to add a taste. 


Most Italian dressings are gluten-free, and you can enjoy having them with a variety of foods. Always skim through the label to ensure the ingredients are celiac-friendly, or you can prepare the dressing at home. 

At Nothing Gluten, we talk about foods and their gluten status. You can also check out our gluten-free recipes to prepare delicious foods without worrying about celiac disease. 

A 23-year old tech geek with a passion for health and fitness, Jim is here to help you follow a healthy, gluten free life. The details provided by this student are simple enough for everyone to understand - and based on experience and research. While he doesn’t claim to be a health expert, he is dedicated to providing the best advice that he himself would follow.