Is Honey Gluten Free? The Truth No One Told You

Is Honey Gluten Free

We all know honey to be a healthier alternative to sugar. You can use it almost in all sweet dishes to get the same sweetness as sugar. But if you get celiacs disease, you can’t consume anything until you’re sure if that product is gluten free. You might have the same question for honey. Is honey gluten free? 

Yes, natural honey is gluten free since it’s a nectar collected from honeybees. But whether packaged honey is gluten free or not will vary from brand to brand. 

It’s best to know how to find out the gluten content in honey and if the product you pick is safe for celiacs or not. Read this article to get all your queries solved and pick the right product to fit your gluten free diet. 

Is Honey Gluten Free? 

Honey is nectar collected from honeybees so there is no gluten content in its natural form. It’s a concentrated source of antioxidants and beneficial plant compounds which do not have any traces of gluten. 

Is Honey Have Gluten

There are no harmful compounds extracted from barley or wheat that can induce gluten allergy. However, things may be different for packaged honey. Manufacturers sometimes add gluten to improve texture and flavor; hence you must have an eye on the ingredient list to check if the product is gluten free. 

Gluten free brands will clearly state on their website and in the packaging that the product is safe for celiacs. 

Related Post:- Is Marshmallow Fluff Gluten Free?

Is Honey Vegan?

Is Honey Vegan

Honey isn’t vegan since the nectar is extracted from beehives. I have seen many vegans avoiding honey as their stand against beekeeping practices. 

Any product derived from an animal substance, be it dairy items or honey, aren’t vegan friendly.  

Is Honey Healthy For You? Benefits Of Honey. 

Honey is healthy, and there are quite a few benefits of it. Honey is a good source of different nutrients, and since it’s a pure form of sugar, it has no fat content. About one tablespoon of honey contains- 

  • Calories- 60g
  • Fat- 0g
  • Protein- 0g
  • Carbs- 17g
  • Fiber- 0g
  • Copper- 1% Daily Value 
  • Riboflavin- 1% Daily Value

Some of the significant health benefits of honey are- 

  • It may improve heart health.
  • Pure and minimally processed honey is rich in antioxidants. It helps minimize ROS in your body, which often causes premature aging, type 2 diabetes, and heart disease. 
  • Honey also works in healing wounds and burns. People have been using this natural remedy for ages. 
  • Honey is also used to suppress coughing. 
  • Finally, we all know that honey is a healthier alternative to sugar. 

How to Find Gluten Free Honey

Finding gluten free honey isn’t a daunting task. Companies and manufacturers have increasingly become aware of gluten intolerance, so they have come up with gluten free honey safe for celiacs. 

How to Find Gluten Free Honey

I would suggest you check the company packaging to check if the product is gluten free. The ingredient label should have no wheat or barely either as a direct ingredient or as an additive. 

Besides, the company should adhere to FDA gluten guidelines based on which it should have- 

  • less than 20ppm gluten
  • It should be made in a gluten free facility
  • It has to pass the gluten free test 

If the honey comes with these three tags, it’s safe for you.  

Best Gluten Free Honey Brands Safe for Celiacs 

I have shortlisted some of the best gluten free honey brands to make your task of finding one easier. These are completely organic and don’t have any gluten additives. 

Best Gluten Free Honey Brands Safe for Celiacs

Nature’s Nate Pure, Raw, Unfiltered Honey

It’s 100% honey without any preservatives or added colors. Each Nature’s Nate honey bottle is tested to ensure it’s free from pesticides, antibiotics, herbicides, and artificial additives. 

GloryBee Honey

GloryBee is another premium quality pure organic honey that’s safe for gluten sensitive people. The honey is extracted from sweet clover and native wildflowers that grow near the pristine rocky mountains. 

L.R Rice Honey

Packaged straight from the hives without using any pesticides or additives. L.R Rice is 100% pure, so celiacs can consume it without facing any allergic reactions. 

Mike’s Hot Honey

Mike’s Hot Honey is gluten free and is infused with chili peppers for a slight taste twist of sweetness and heat. 

Try These Recipes Using Honey Instead Of Sugar And Devour Guilt-Free

Whether gluten sensitive or not, today’s health-conscious people prefer replacing sugar with natural sweeteners. What can be better than honey to use in your recipes without compromising on the taste? 

Here are my top favorite recipes to try with honey that’ll definitely make your days sweeter. 

1. Honey Peanut Butter Cookies 

Honey Peanut Butter Cookies

Ingredients 

  • 1 cup honey 
  • ½ cup of shortening
  • 2 cups creamy peanut butter 
  • 2 eggs (beaten) 
  • ½ tsp salt 
  • 1 ½ tsp baking soda 
  • 1 tsp baking powder 
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour 

Method 

Step 1 

Preheat the oven to 360°F. Mix peanut butter, shortening, honey, and beaten eggs in a bowl. 

Step 2 

Take a separate bowl and mix other ingredients- baking powder, baking soda, salt, all-purpose flour, and the remaining honey. Combine this with the peanut butter mixture. The texture should be somewhat dry, so you can easily shape them into small balls. 

Step 3 

Transfer the balls to a baking dish and bake for about 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven. Once done, let the cookies cool for some time before serving. 

2. Honey Muffins 

Honey Muffins

Ingredients 

  • 2 cups honey 
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour 
  • ½ tsp salt 
  • 3 tsp baking powder 
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • ½ cup butter (melted)

Method 

Step 1 

Preheat the oven to 400°F. In a bowl, mix flour, baking powder, and salt. Take a separate bowl and combine honey, milk, and butter. Now combine both the dry and wet mixture together and stir well. 

Step 2 

Transfer the batter to your muffin pans. Bake for about 15-20 minutes till the muffins slightly get golden. 

Step 3 

After taking them out from the oven, let them rest for three to five minutes and enjoy them alongside your tea!

Wrapping Up 

Organic honey is gluten free and is absolutely safe for even celiacs. While buying packaged honey, don’t forget to check the product labeling. Honey is a healthier substitute to sugar, but it’s high in calories, so consume within limits to keep your health in check. 

FAQs 

Is natural honey gluten free? 

Yes, natural honey is gluten free. There are no ingredients that are derived from gluten grains. 

Can celiacs have honey? 

Yes, celiacs can have honey that’s free from any gluten additives. Check product labeling to pick the right product. 

How is honey made? 

After bees collect nectar, they break it down into simple sugars and store it in the honeycomb. 

Is honey dairy-free?

Yes, honey is dairy-free. It’s nectar collected from honey bees, so there are no dairy substances.

Rishasri Kashyap
A passionate lifestyle and food blogger making you familiar with the secrets of following a healthy diet. My passion of exploring different cuisines and different lifestyle have helped accumulate experience that’s beneficial for people following a gluten free diet.