Is Aunt Jemima Syrup Gluten Free?

Is Aunt Jemima Syrup Gluten Free

Everybody knows that the key to making pancakes, waffles, or French toasts tastier is by adding a sweet, sticky syrup as a topping. People often replace the pricey maple syrup with breakfast syrup. And Aunt Jemima is a highly popular brand. But is Aunt Jemima syrup gluten free?

The list of ingredients shows that Aunt Jemima syrup is gluten free as gluten grains are not used. So it is considered safe for those with gluten intolerance or celiac disease. But it is not certified. So those with hypersensitivity must exercise caution. 

So, does the absence of certification make Aunt Jemima syrup unsafe for you if you have celiac disease or gluten intolerance? What do others who have to follow a gluten free lifestyle say about this product? Today, let’s find out all about the world’s favorite syrup by Aunt Jemima.  

What is Aunt Jemina Syrup?

Walk into an American household in the morning – and you’ll likely see a bottle of Aunt Jemima syrup sitting on the dining table. Now known as Pearl Milling Company, Aunt Jemima syrup is truly a breakfast staple. It goes with pretty much all morning-hour delicacies – and even cereals. 

This thick syrup is sweet and buttery, but don’t mistake it for maple syrup. It is actually pancake syrup with corn syrup, high fructose corn syrup, flavors, colors, and other additives.  make a delicious addition to your morning spread. The syrup hit the market back in the year 1966.

Later on, in 1985 and 1991, two more syrups by the same brand hit the shop shelves – Aunt Jemima Butter Lite and Aunt Jemima Butter Rich. As you may understand from the names, these come with various degrees of richness in the taste of butter – with the same base syrup.

The syrups are so popular that the name “Aunt Jemima” has become synonymous with syrups only. But this product line by Quaker produces other breakfast foods, too. But recently, in 2021, the product got rebranded as Pearl Milling Company, but the products remain the same.   

Is Aunt Jemima Syrup gluten free?

Refer to it by its original name, Aunt Jemima, or adapt to the new name, Pearl Milling Company. Either way, you have a delicious topping to improve your breakfast game. With corn syrup and high fructose corn syrup as the main ingredients, Aunt Jemima syrup is inherently gluten free and safe. 

People with gluten intolerance or celiac disease usually enjoy this syrup without facing any consequent allergic reactions. But the brand doesn’t make claims or take responsibility in this regard. That’s because it is not certified gluten free. So it does not undergo the tests to track trace gluten.

Though the key ingredients are gluten free, cross-contamination is possible. This can happen in the facilities of the product or its ingredients if they come in contact with gluten-rich items. Cross-contamination is a possibility in shared production, manufacturing, processing, and packaging units.

Is Aunt Jemima Syrup have gluten

It is also possible that the additives that go into the syrup contain gluten. The syrup does not undergo certification tests. So the facilities and the individual ingredients are not tested. It is also impossible to know if the product’s gluten content is within the permitted limit of 20 ppm.

Most people who have to follow a gluten free diet due to medical reasons love and recommend the syrup. However, it is understandable if you wonder – is Aunt Jemima syrup gluten free and safe? This is especially true if you are hypersensitive and even trace gluten can affect you. 

We recommend testing how your body reacts to this syrup by trying a small amount. If you feel healthy, you can gradually increase the amount. You can also consult your physician to ask if it would be the right move for you to try this product, depending on the severity of your condition.     

Related Post:- Is Beef Jerky Gluten Free?

Aunt Jemima Syrup Ingredients and Nutritional Facts

Aunt Jemima syrup is a pancake syrup, which you may also call a breakfast syrup or a maple-flavored syrup. The ingredients that go into this topping include the following –

  1. High Fructose Corn Syrup
  2. Corn Syrup
  3. Flavor (Natural/Artificial)
  4. Salt
  5. Sodium Hexametaphosphate
  6. Caramel Color
  7. Preservatives (Sorbic Acid, Sodium Benzoate)
  8. Water
  9. Cellulose Gum

Each serving of 2 tbsp (30 ml) adds 100 calories. It is primarily a source of carbs, containing 25g of it – with 15g sugars, including 15g added sugars. It also does not contain any allergen, as is clear from the list of ingredients. So everyone can enjoy this delight – unless you’re on a low-carb diet.

Maple Syrup vs. Pancake Syrup: Which One is Aunt Jemima Syrup?

You must have understood by now that maple syrup is not the same as pancake syrup, breakfast syrup, or maple-flavored syrup. For one, the key ingredients differ. This affects the nutritional value and the quality of the two. Accordingly, the two vary hugely in terms of price.

Maple syrup comes from the sap of maple trees and is more than just a sweet syrup. It has a complex flavor profile with toasty and floral hints. This syrup gets made by boiling and reducing the sap that comes straight from the trees – by 40-45 times! It is a time- and labor-intensive process.   

It’s understandable why pure maple syrup is expensive. It takes gallons of pure and natural ingredients and several hours of hard work for pure maple syrup to reach your plate. What you get is a sweet delight with a rich taste. It even has different categories, depending on the color and flavor.

On the other hand, pancake syrups are thick and sweet topping, with corn syrup and high fructose corn syrup as the key ingredients. They also contain flavoring and coloring agents, along with other additives. It has no maple sap – and is far from maple syrup in taste and aroma.  

Maple Syrup vs. Pancake Syrup

Are pancake syrups and maple syrups gluten free? Maple syrups contain pure maple tree sap or extract. Hence, pure maple syrup is entirely free from gluten grains or any ingredient with gluten content in them. But pancake syrups contain several additives that may have gluten content.

Aunt Jemima syrup is an inexpensive but tasty breakfast syrup made of corn syrup and high fructose corn syrup, along with other additives. Thankfully, Aunt Jemima syrup is free from gluten, too. It has been America’s beloved syrup and a household name for several decades.    

Best gluten free Aunt Jemima Syrup Alternatives

Most people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance consider Aunt Jemima syrup safe. However, the brand doesn’t take responsibility for its gluten free status. It cannot vouch for the gluten content in the additives that come from suppliers. Plus, the final syrup or its facilities are not tested. 

So, you can choose a brand like Butternut Mountain Farm, Kirkland Signature, Lincoln County, and Nokomis. They produce pure maple syrup that’s guaranteed gluten free. If you want a spicy kick, Runamok’s pure maple syrup, laced with cinnamon and vanilla, is an excellent choice. 

If you want a breakfast syrup, go for a certified option like Nature’s Hollow and Wholesome Yum Pancake Syrup. Even Wholefood Sweeteners claims that its pancake syrup is naturally gluten free. ChocZero’s topping syrup is also marketed as free, though its package doesn’t claim so. 

Final Words 

Is Aunt Jemima syrup gluten free? If this question has been keeping you from enjoying this syrup, there’s good news. Your peers in the celiac community recommend this product. The product is not certified. That is why you should be a little careful about cross-contamination. 

So make sure to test the syrup in small amounts and gradually increase the quantity. Or, you can discuss the severity of your condition with your doctor before trying this topping altogether. But to be absolutely sure, you can shift to other certified brands or spend a little extra on pure maple syrup.

Jim
A 23-year old tech geek with a passion for health and fitness, Jim is here to help you follow a healthy, gluten free life. The details provided by this B.tech student are simple enough for everyone to understand - and based on experience and research. While he doesn’t claim to be a health expert, he is dedicated to providing the best advice that he himself would follow.