Olive oil has been one of the healthiest cooking oils that don’t just add taste but also nutrition to your food. However, some celiacs wonder, is olive oil gluten free?
Yes, olive oil in its natural form is gluten free and can be consumed when on a gluten-free diet. In fact, most olive oil brands out there offer gluten-free oil that celiacs can eat as condiments or use for other purposes.
But olive oil is not always gluten free. In this article, you’ll find detailed information on how olive oil is made, its types, and a few popular brands that offer gluten-free olive oil.
Read on to know everything before you start eating this delicious and healthy oil.
Table of Contents
Why Is Olive Oil Gluten Free?
Olives naturally do not contain gluten, and therefore, olive oil is also gluten free. Moreover, the process of extracting oil from olives also does not require any extra ingredients, keeping the oil free from gluten.
Related Posts:- Is Jell-O Gluten Free?
How is Olive Oil Made?
The process of extracting oil from olives requires a lot of squeezing. Commercial brands use big pressing machines that squeeze the olives and help extract the oil. However, a lot of people also wonder if they can extract olive oil at home. Yes, it is possible, but the amount of oil you’ll get will be too little.
Squeezing olives is not that easy and requires heavy-duty machines. The best way is to buy olive oil from a trusted brand. Another method used to extract oil from olives is known as cold dipping.
You’ll find the extraction process mentioned on the label. If the manufacturer has mentioned cold-pressed, it means there was no heat used during the extraction process.
Is Extra-Virgin Oil Gluten Free?
Yes, extra-virgin oil is gluten-free, and celiacs can add it to their meals. In addition, Virgin oil does not contain any other ingredients, and the extraction process is also very simple, thus, there are no chances of cross-contamination as well.
Still, it would be great to go through the label to know if the oil contains anything else apart from just olives. Below in this article, I have recommended some virgin as well as regular olive oil brands that are gluten-free.
Is Gluten Free Olive Oil Healthy?
Absolutely, gluten-free olive oil is healthy, and people with a celiac diet can consume it without thinking twice. There are plenty of health benefits of having olive oil, including:
- Olive oil is rich in monounsaturated fats
- It has a higher amount of antioxidants
- It has anti-inflammatory properties
- Consumption of olive oil can prevent heart stroked
- Olive oil helps lose weight
And there are numerous other benefits associated with the consumption of gluten-free olive oil. Whether you are on a celiac diet or not, you can regularly consume olive oil for cooking meals or salad dressings.
Olive Oil Types and Uses
There are different types of olive oils available in the market, and this is the reason why celiacs wonder if olive oil is gluten-free. Another question is which type is gluten free. Below you’ll find different types of olive oils and if they are gluten free or not.
1. Light Olive Oil
Light olive oil is highly refined and has a pale color. Most commonly used for cooking purposes, this oil can withstand higher temperatures. However, you have to be careful when heating it. Light olive oil is gluten-free.
2, Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Extra virgin olive oil is considered as the best olive oil for people on a gluten-free diet. In addition, extra virgin olive oil is usually cold-pressed and does not involve any chemical extraction processes. You can use this oil over salads and can use it for cooking as well.
Unlike light olive oil, this one cannot withstand higher temperatures, so you should be careful while using it for cooking.
3. Pure Olive Oil
It also comes labeled as “olive oil.” Pure olive oil also falls into the refined category and has yellowish color with a little green effect in it. The viscosity is less as compared to some other types. The taste is neutral, and this olive oil is free from gluten. You can use pure olive oil for cooking and for dressing salads.
4. Virgin Olive Oil
The virgin olive oil is one step below extra virgin oil but shares similar characteristics. The oil is only extracted using mechanical methods such as cold press, but some methods involve using heat, which may change the properties of the oil.
Virgin olive oil is also gluten-free, and celiacs can add it to their meals. However, you should avoid using virgin oil for high-heat cooking purposes.
It would be great to have two types of olive oils at hand, including extra-virgin for dressing salads and pure olive oil that you can use for high-heat cooking.
When Is Olive Oil Not Gluten-free?
As olive oil only contains olives and nothing else, so it is basically gluten-free. The only time the live oil will be considered as not gluten-free is because of cross contamination. The introduction of some foreign particles to the extraction process may lead to the oil getting contaminated and unfit for celiacs.
Furthermore, when you use olive oil with ingredients that are not gluten free, it’ll also become not gluten-free.
Top Gluten-free Olive Oil Brands You Can Consider
There are tons of olive oil brands to choose from, so to help you choose the best, I’ve curated this list. Below you’ll find the top olive oil brands in the United States.
1. California Olive Ranch: Best Extra Virgin Olive Oil
California Olive Ranch is popular for offering one of the best and purest olive oils. The brand uses mechanical processes to extract oil, and its oils are free from any harmful chemicals.
The oil has a light to medium body and is a little buttery making it perfect for dressing salads. However, you’ll find California Olive Ranch Oils a bit expensive because of less production.
2. Palermo Olive Oil
The brand offers olive oil in the virgin as well as pure form. Also, you’ll find gluten-free mentioned on the label since this is a GFCO-certified brand. Their olive oil is high quality and is extracted using a chemical-free process. If you prefer a smooth oil with higher nutrient content, you can trust Palermo Olive Oil.
3. Filippo Berio Olive Oil
This brand has a wide range of olive oils to offer, including extra virgin, virgin, and more. You’ll find gluten-free mentioned on the label. Also, the brand claims that they use the best-quality and natural olives that are free from pesticides.
4. Iliada Olive Oil
Iliada produces olive oil with a thought in mind to maintain its purity, and that’s what you can expect from every single drop. The taste is not overpowering, so you can still get that amazing taste from your dish.
Q: What oil is not gluten-free?
A: Apart from olive oil, there are plenty of oils that are not gluten free. These include cheap refined oils such as corn, canola, soy, and more. You should use branded olive oil to avoid catching any gluten allergies. However, cooking sprays are gluten free and you can use them for cooking.
Q: Can celiac Patients eat virgin olive oil?
A: Yes, celiac patients can consume virgin olive oil as it is free from gluten. However, you should only trust reputed brands that label their oils as gluten-free.
Q: Does olive oil have gluten and soy?
A: No, olive oil does not contain gluten and soy, so people on a gluten-free diet can consume it. However, chances of cross contamination are there, so you need to be careful when choosing olive oil.
As you know, olive oil is gluten free, so it is time to order it and use it for several purposes. Apart from dressing salads, olive oil can also be used for cooking. There are plenty of purposes you can use olive oil for. Lastly, always trust a reliable brand that’s popular and has GFCO certification for their products.