Gluten allergy can really make your life difficult as you have to be picky about everything you eat. Things as simple as cooking spray are also under the question if they are celiac safe or not. So is cooking spray gluten free and safe for gluten sensitive people?
Cooking spray is gluten free in most parts of the U.S. It’s a lubricant made with oil and lecithin, so there are no gluten inducing ingredients here.
But to declare any product gluten free requires more definite proof. It has to adhere to certain rules to be absolutely safe for all gluten sensitive people. Read this article to find out more about cooking oil and its gluten status.
Table of Contents
Is Cooking Spray Gluten Free? Are All Cooking Sprays Gluten Free?
Oil and lecithin are the two base ingredients of cooking spray. Canola oil, olive oil, coconut oil, mustard oil, sunflower oil, etc., are used in making the spray. None of these vegetable oils are byproducts of gluten.
Lecithin, again, isn’t made from wheat, barley, or any other gluten grains; therefore, we may consider cooking spray as a gluten free product. Apart from these, two cooking sprays use some propellants, all of which have no gluten.
But I would suggest you always check the ingredient label before picking up your cooking spray from the supermarket. Manufacturers may process a lot of items in the same facility. If cooking spray is made in a facility that also processes gluten products, the risk of cross-contamination increases.
When the cooking spray comes with the gluten free label, you can rest assured that it adheres to all FDA gluten free guidelines and is made in a gluten free facility.
Related Posts:- Is Kahlua Gluten Free?
What’s Really In Cooking Spray? How Is It Made?
As also mentioned above, cooking spray is made by combining vegetable oil and lecithin. Oil works as a greasing agent to stop food particles from sticking in the pan. But oil in its original form is quite thick, so it’s mixed with water to make it light.
Lecithin is an emulsifier that helps the oil to get diluted with water. Without lecithin, you can’t make the oil get diluted in water. Other propellants used in making cooking spray are- propane, nitrous oxide, carbon dioxide, dimethyl silicone, and food-grade alcohol.
Because of these chemicals, the oil comes out as a mist without any foam.
Is Cooking Spray vegan?
Cooking sprays may or may not be vegan. It depends on the kind of lecithin the makers are using. Lecithin is naturally present in tissues or organs of animals, egg yolk, and vegetables like soybean, corn, and peanuts.
If the lecithin used in cooking spray is plant based, it’s vegan friendly. But if it’s derived from animal parts, it’s not. The best way to find out is by checking the product label. All vegan items will bear the tag.
Gluten Free Cooking Spray Brands: My Top Picks
No doubt you’ll get plenty of choices for cooking sprays, but all of them are not made in a gluten free facility. To make your job easier, here is a list of gluten free cooking sprays celiacs can use-
La Tourangelle is one of the best gluten free cooking sprays that are propellant free, non-stick, and chemical free as well.
Pompeian non-stick cooking spray is made from 100% rapeseed oil, is gluten free, propellants free, and Non-GMO.
Another gluten free oil spray to add to your kitchen is this Miladamaia Pure Macadamia oil spray. It has an umami flavor, gluten free, vegan, keto-friendly, and propellant-free as well.
Can You Make Your Own Gluten Free Cooking Spray? Homemade Cooking Spray Recipe
Wondering if you can make cooking spray at home? Absolutely. You don’t need any fancy ingredients to make a gluten free cooking spray at home. I have shared the recipe I have been using for a long time; let’s check that out.
Gluten Free Cooking Spray Recipe
- Use any vegetable oil like- canola oil, olive oil, sunflower oil, mustard oil, etc.
- Liquid lecithin
- Mister spray bottle
- Take one cup of water in a measuring cup. Remove two tbsp of water from the cup.
- Add water, 2 tbsp oil, and liquid lecithin to the mister bottle and shake well. Your cooking spray is ready in no time. Store it in a cool, dry place and shake well before every use.
Tip: Don’t fill the mister bottle to the top because the cooking spray requires air to mist. Additionally, the ideal oil and water proportion to make a good cooking spray is one part oil to five parts of water.
Cooking spray is vegan because there are no gluten based products in the recipe. But cross-contamination is a prevailing issue in all food products, so you must pick the ones that bear the gluten free tag.
If you are highly gluten intolerant, you can make your own gluten free cooking recipe at home. I have shared the recipe, don’t forget to check it out.
Is Pam cooking spray gluten free?
Yes, Pam cooking spray is gluten free. It’s made with coconut oil, and there are no added gluten ingredients in there.
Is Pam canola spray gluten free?
Yes, Pam canola spray is also gluten free with no gluten allergy inducing ingredients. There is no wheat or barley in the canola spray.
Is butter spray gluten free?
Butter spray is also gluten free, but you must not forget to check the gluten free label before buying any.
Is cooking spray celiac safe?
Cooking spray is celiac safe because no wheat ingredients are used in the product. But there might be chances of cross-contamination, so pick only the ones that say gluten free on the packaging.