Is Tequila Gluten Free? The Truth

Is Tequila Gluten Free

Gluten allergy and celiac disease require a strict diet. You can’t have any food or drink before knowing its gluten status. Hence, inspecting the gluten status of tequila is also important to avoid any side effects. So is tequila gluten free?

Pure distilled tequila made from the agave plant is gluten free, but all tequila brands may not produce tequila only from the agave plant. 

The gluten status of tequila may vary from brand to brand. Some may contain wheat, while others may not. Read this article to find out which tequilas are gluten free and what this drink should not contain to make it safe for celiacs. 

Is Tequila Gluten Free? 

Yes, tequila is gluten free if made from 100% blue agave plant. Again mixtos tequila, which is 50% agave and 50% other sugar, is still gluten free and safe for celiacs

Drinking tequila that’s made following the authentic recipe won’t make gluten intolerant people sick as there are no wheat or barley abstracts. That being said, many modern tequila brands add other flavorings that may have hidden gluten. 

Is Tequila Have Gluten

My tip here would be to pick tequila that says 100% blue agave. This will ensure that no other additives have been infused in the alcohol that may put potential risks of gluten contamination

Again mixtos (50% agave and 50% other sugar) tequilas are also safe, but such bottles don’t usually bear the tag of mixtos tequila; hence the confusion remains. But checking the ingredient label will help you find out if any gluten substances are used in the drink. 

Tequilas that have artificial flavors make it difficult to find out their gluten status. The ingredient label would simply say artificial flavor without specifying if it’s gluten free or not. 

Related Posts:- Starbucks Gluten Free Menu

What Is Tequila Made From?

What Is Tequila Made From

As already mentioned, tequila is mainly made from blue agave plants. It’s a high sugar plant that adds sweetness to the drink. The home to these huge spiky plants in Mexico. 

The sugar is extracted from the central part of the plant called pina. Pina is cooked and mashed, and once the sugar is extracted, it is fermented using yeast which turns the sugars into alcohol. 

Once the fermentation process is complete, the liquor undergoes a distillation process. When the distillation is complete, the liquor can be bottled immediately. But if you are storing it in barrels, it needs 60 days before it can make it to the customers.  

Are Margaritas Gluten Free?

Margaritas made with 100% blue agave tequila is gluten free. Apart from that, triple sac, another dominant ingredient used in margaritas, should be gluten free too. Again if you are using any other flavorings, ensure those have no gluten as well. 

Can Celiacs Drink Tequila?

Yes, celiacs can drink tequila that’s only made from blue agave plants. Agave plants don’t come under the periphery of gluten grains or plants, so there are no risks involved. 

Popular Gluten-Free Tequila Brands 

Popular Gluten-Free Tequila Brands

Here are some of the most popular gluten free tequila brands that are safe for celiacs or gluten sensitive people. I’ve tested a few of them myself and absolutely liked their taste. Let’s have a look- 

1519 is a pure agave tequila that brings you authentic Mexican flavors. The makers follow the ancestral methods to bring you the finest tequila with double or triple distillation. 

Cabo Wabo tequila has a true Mexican flavor while preserving the American essence. This, too, is a pure agave liquor; hence is safe for all celiacs. 

This double distilled tequila is aged for almost 8 to 12 years to get that perfect crisp taste. Made from 100% blue agave, 1800 tequila again is one of the best picks for gluten sensitive people. 

Crafted in Jalisco, Don Julio Tequila has a pure mellow flavor of blue agave. The makers use almost eight pounds of agave to make just one bottle of Don Jon Tequila, so there is no compromise on flavor. 

Wrapping up the list of gluten free tequila with the Teremana Tequila that’s prepared in a small Mexican town. Made with 100% roasted agave brings out the bright citrus flavors, which have 0 added sugars. 

Must-Try Gluten Free Tequila Mocktail Recipes 

Let’s check out some super refreshing gluten free tequila cocktail recipes you can try at home. 

1. Casa Ginger Mint Paloma 

Casa Ginger Mint Paloma

Ingredients 

  • 2 oz tequila 
  • 1 oz fresh lime juice 
  • 1.5 oz grapefruit juice 
  • Some mint leaves 

Method 

Muddle mint leaves in the shaker and add all the liquid ingredients. Shake for ten to fifteen seconds and strain it into a cocktail glass. 

2. The Marble Queen

The Marble Queen

Ingredients 

  • 1.5 oz tequila 
  • .5 oz lime juice 
  • 1 oz coco lopez coconut cream 

Method 

Mix all the liquids in a cocktail shaker and give it a nice shake. Serve in a salt-rimmed glass and enjoy!

3. Mexican Martini

Mexican Martini

Ingredients 

  • 2 oz tequila 
  • 1 dash of orange bitters 
  • .75 oz Vermouth Bianco
  • Lemon twist 

Method 

Mix everything in a shaker with ice. Shake well and pour into your cocktail glass. 

Conclusion

Tequila that’s made the traditional way is gluten free and safe for all celiacs. But beware of the ones which have added flavorings. These may have hidden gluten which increases the risk of side effects. 

Check out the gluten free tequila brands I mentioned to make a safe choice and enjoy your drink at the same time. 

FAQs

Q: Is agave gluten free? 

A: Yes, agave plants are completely gluten free. Agave plants aren’t part of gluten plants like wheat, barley, etc. 

Q: Which tequila isn’t gluten free? 

A: Tequila made with added flavorings or additives which may have gluten isn’t gluten free. 

Q: Is Patron tequila gluten free? 

A: Yes, all Patron tequilas are gluten free; however, you must read the ingredient labels and nutritional information before buying any. 

Jim
A 23-year old tech geek with a passion for health and fitness, Jim is here to help you follow a healthy, gluten free life. The details provided by this B.tech student are simple enough for everyone to understand - and based on experience and research. While he doesn’t claim to be a health expert, he is dedicated to providing the best advice that he himself would follow.