Is Hendrick’s Gin Gluten Free and Safe for Celiacs?

Is Hendrick's Gin Gluten Free

Gin is considered to be the healthiest alcoholic drink, and Hendrick’s Gin is one of the most popular brands. But is Hendrick’s Gin gluten-free – and is it safe for celiacs?

Hendrick’s Gin is naturally gluten free due to its ingredients and production process. Most celiac and gluten allergy patients drink it without allergic reactions. But its trace gluten content is not tested to see if it may affect those with severe conditions.

Gin is a popular favorite among people who cannot consume gluten, but most gin brands are not certified as gluten-free – just like Hendrick’s Gin. But should you really drink this gin if you’re severely allergic? How should you check if it suits you or not? Let’s find out in our discussion today.  

“The gin and tonic has saved more Englishmen’s lives, and minds, than all the doctors in the Empire”

Winston Churchill

Is Hendrick’s Gin Gluten Free?

Located in Scotland is a distillery that uses two unique methods of distillation to make gin. We are talking about Hendrick’s, one of the world’s favorite gins. This alcoholic beverage contains a wide range of botanicals that give it a complex flavor. But is it safe for celiacs and gluten allergy patients?

The brand’s official website mentions that Hendrick’s Gin is proudly gluten-free. Most people who are prescribed a gluten-free lifestyle because of their medical conditions enjoy drinking this gin without facing allergic reactions. There are two reasons why it can be considered safe. 

The list of ingredients used for making Hendrick’s Gin does not include gluten grains like wheat, barley, and rye. Usually, gins are made from agricultural products – which may include grains or other starchy ingredients. But Hendrick’s Gin has fruits, seeds, flowers, etc., that are naturally gluten-free. 

Is Hendrick's Gin have Gluten

In addition, it is made using distillation, a process that removes gluten protein from any alcoholic beverage. So, because of the ingredients and the blending process, Hendrick’s Gin is considered inherently gluten-free. It is generally safe for people suffering from celiac disease or gluten allergy. 

However, there’s a catch here. It is not certified as a gluten-free product – which means it has not been tested to check if the amount of gluten particles in the gin is within the safe limit, i.e., 20 ppm. This means the drink may contain trace gluten as a result of cross-contamination.

Since Hendrick’s Gin does not undergo the tests required for certification, it is not possible to know if its ingredients may have come in contact with gluten ingredients. Thus, it may contain trace gluten that can trigger reactions. Try this gin in small amounts to observe your response to it.       

Read More:- Is Sapporo Gluten Free Beer?

Gluten in Gin and Other Distilled Products

Most people who are medically required to follow a gluten-free diet drink gin, a distilled drink. Gin and other distilled drinks are formulated using starch. It comes from agricultural products that may include gluten grains, though sometimes, the starch used may come from molasses, potatoes, etc.  

Even if the source ingredient is a gluten-containing grain, the process of distillation removes gluten protein. During distillation, the volatile alcoholic liquid rises to the top. Meanwhile, the heavy and non-volatile gluten protein remains at the button. This separates gluten from the alcoholic drink. 

The volatile substance passes through the still before condensing. Thus, the final condensed liquid does not contain gluten. Hence distilled drinks like gin are considered “gluten-removed” and generally safe for people with celiac disease or gluten allergy. But what about those with severe cases?

Many people who are severely allergic to gluten cannot tolerate distilled drinks. Of course, this is only true if the source of the drink is a gluten grain. Also, when additives are added after distillation, the gluten content in the additives, if any, may cause allergic reactions.   

Naturally Gluten free vs. Certified gluten free Drinks 

It is clear that alcoholic drinks like Hendrick’s gin are inherently free from gluten content. This is either because they are not made from gluten-containing grains or because they undergo distillation. Gluten can also be removed from drinks by centrifugation or by using enzymes.

Remember that additives may get added to a drink after the process of distillation is completed. So, if these additives contain gluten, the final product may end up with gluten. Another reason there might be gluten in naturally gluten-free or gluten-removed drinks may have gluten is cross-contamination. 

Hendrick's Gin drink

This happens when the beverage or its ingredients come in contact with gluten during manufacturing, processing, farming of ingredients, etc. Such gluten content can only be detected through tests. A certified gluten-free drink undergoes such tests to check its gluten content. 

An alcoholic beverage – or any food or drink – can only earn the “gluten-free” certification after these tests reveal that it has less than 20 ppm of gluten according to the standard set by the FDA. The certification process involves checking the facilities to ensure that the final product is absolutely safe.       

What is Hendrick’s Gin Made From? 

Hendrick’s Gin is hugely popular because of its unique balance of flavors that come from juniper, rose, cucumbers, and ten botanicals. Every sip offers a fresh berry and fruity taste, along with citrus and green notes tied together by herbal and spicy flavors and a beautiful floral whiff. 

Like all gins, Hendrick’s Gin, too, contains juniper that features as the top note in the drink. In addition, it has carefully chosen fresh cucumbers and Bulgarian roses that add gentle notes. If that’s not unique enough, Hendrick’s Gin is also known for the flavors of the botanics.

Its complex but subtle flavor balance comes from the seeds of coriander and caraway, as well as flowers like elderflower and chamomile. It also contains the peels of orange and lemon, angelica roots and stems, orris roots, and spices like yarrow and cubeb pepper, making it so exotic!  

Hendrick’s Gin Nutritional Facts

One reason people love Hendrick’s Gin is that it is fairly low on the calorie count. One 1.5 oz shot of this spirit contains only 98 calories, which is one of the lowest among all alcoholic drinks. If you drink a glass of gin and tonic made using this brand’s grin, you will consume about 150 calories. 

Hendrick's Gin Nutritional Facts

What’s interesting is that gin triggers an “after burns” effect that enables your body to burn calories for about one hour after you drink it. 1.5 oz of this gin also contains 27 grams of carbohydrates – and it has no protein or fat content. The alcoholic content in Hendrick’s Gin is 41.4% ABV. 

Popular gluten-free Gin Brands 

Besides Hendrick’s Gin which is the traditional blend, the brand has four other gin varieties, Hendrick’s Lunar, Hendrick’s Orbium, Hendrick’s Amazonia, and Midsummer Solstice. All of these are inherently gluten-free, like the traditional gin. You can also try other gluten-free gin brands like – 

  1. Bombay Sapphire
  2. Tanqueray Rangpur
  3. Liverpool Gin
  4. The Infusionist Passionfruit Gin Liqueur
  5. Manchester Gin
  6. Whitley Neill
  7. Larios Rose

However, you should remember that none of these are certified gluten-free gin blends, and it is possible for them to contain trace gluten. They are inherently free from gluten content as they are distilled alcoholic beverages. If you are severely allergic to gluten, they might make you ill.

Final words

While a few people have complained about allergic reactions after drinking Hendrick’s Gin, it is considered safe by most. Are you wondering, “Is Hendrick’s Gin gluten-free and safe?” It’s best to try the gin in small amounts to check how your body reacts – before including it in your gluten-free lifestyle. 

Jim
A 23-year old tech geek with a passion for health and fitness, Jim is here to help you follow a healthy, gluten free life. The details provided by this B.tech student are simple enough for everyone to understand - and based on experience and research. While he doesn’t claim to be a health expert, he is dedicated to providing the best advice that he himself would follow.