Is Root Beer Gluten Free? Click Here to Know the Facts

Is Root Beer Gluten Free

Refreshing and bold, that’s root beer for you! Root beer has a lot of fans, and people love it for the unique spiciness that differentiates it from other beers. 

However, people on a gluten-free diet often wonder if they can have root beer or not. But all your worries have not come to an end. Since this article has everything, you want to know before having root beer.

Is root beer gluten free? Yes, root beer is gluten-free like any other soda, and people on a gluten-free diet can have it without any allergies and irritations. There are many brands that manufacture root beer, and almost all of them produce gluten-free root beer you can have.

Keep reading this article to know exactly some brands you can prefer and what is in there in the root beer.

What is Root Beer?

What is Root Beer

Root beer is a type of soda with a sweet flavor and unique spicy notes. The soda gets its amazing flavor from the combination of sarsaparilla and sassafras. Plenty of ingredients present in root beer are good for health and do not contain gluten. 

Root beer manufacturers don’t use sarsaparilla and sassafras because of their availability, but they use artificial flavors that mimic their effect and flavor. You can easily find root beer in any grocery store with other carbonated beverages or soda cans.

Is Root Beer Gluten Free? A Quick Analysis 

Is Root Beer Have Gluten

Yes, root beer is gluten free, unlike regular beer, it does not contain malt or any other gluten-containing ingredient. There are plenty of ingredients (I’ll discuss them as well) present in the beer, but it is free from anything that is related to gluten or can cause gluten allergies. 

Irrespective of the brand, root beer is gluten free, and you don’t have to worry about anything. However, I suggest going through the list of ingredients as some brands might be using additives or flavor-enhancers which may contain gluten. 

Doing your research prior to consuming any product, including root beer, is a good idea to keep your health on track.

What are the Ingredients in Root Beer?

What are the Ingredients in Root Beer

The ingredients present in root beer vary from brand to brand, as I checked several popular brand labels. However, there are some common ingredients you’ll find in every can. Sassafras or sarsaparilla are the two primary ingredients you’ll find in every root beer can.

However, the FDA has eliminated the sassafras for commercial use in the United States, but manufacturers are using artificial flavors to bring in a similar taste. 

Some common root beer ingredients are:

  • High fructose corn syrup 
  • Cane sugar 
  • Sucrose
  • Carbonated water 
  • Caramel color 
  • Cane sugar
  • Sodium benzoate
  • Artificial flavors

In addition, most root beer is free from caffeine, and you can trust brands like Barq’s if you want a pinch of caffeine in your soda. 

Is Root Beer Vegan? 

Is Root Beer Vegan

Yes, root beer is considered vegan-friendly because the carbonated soda is free from any ingredients sourced from animals. Unlike regular beer, it does not contain isinglass or gelatin.

You can enjoy root beer irrespective of the brand, as no brand uses such products that can hinder its vegan-friendliness. However, it would be a good idea to skim through the label of ingredients to know if the beer you want to enjoy drinking is vegan or not.

Does Any Type Of Root Beer Contain Gluten?

Does Any Type Of Root Beer Contain Gluten

The types of root beer vary based on their ingredients, and I won’t go in-depth about every type because all types are gluten free. The presence of gluten can be because of the specific manufacturer using some particular ingredients.

The standard recipe of all types of root beer does not contain anything that can bring in gluten, therefore, they are safe for consumption.

Gluten-Free Root Beer Brand You Should Try

If you have decided to sip a root beer and look for brands, I’ve got a list for you. Here are some amazing root beer brands you can count on when following a gluten-free diet.

Gluten-Free Root Beer Brand You Should Try

1. A&W Root Beer

A&W root beer is gluten free, and you can have it while following a gluten-free diet. However, the brand has not listed this beer as a gluten-free product on its website. But the ingredients it contains are free from gluten.

2. Barq’s

Barq’s has been there since 1871, and the brand offers amazing root beer. You’ll easily find their root beer cans in the carbonated beverage section of most supermarkets. The brand offers two types:

  • Diet root beer
  • Root beer

3. Jones Soda

Jones Soda offers root beer in traditional bottles. Also, the color of the beer will make you fall in love with it. As per the label of ingredients, this contains all gluten-free ingredients, and celiacs can enjoy having this beer.

4. Shasta 

Shasta offers the root beer in trendy cans. Also, it has some amazing options, including one with less sugar to cater to the people on a diet. 

5. Zevia

Zevia offers more than a medicinal root beer as it contains ginger and other healthy ingredients. There are two gluten-free beers from this brand that I love, and you should also try them:

  • Ginger Root Beer
  • Creamy Root Beer

Frequently Asked Questions 

Q: Is root beer safe for celiacs?

A: Most root beers available in the United States are gluten-free (to 20 ppm), therefore, people on a gluten-free diet can have them. Always check the label of ingredients to ensure the beer does not contain gluten.

Q: Are Barq’s Root Beer Float Pops gluten-free?

A: No, Barq’s Root Beer Float Pops are not gluten-free. If you are following a gluten-free diet, you should not have these pops.


Yes, root beer is gluten free, and there are plenty of brands that use gluten-free ingredients to produce it. Now you can consume root beer without thinking twice and have a refreshing feeling whenever you need it.

If you are not sure about the root beer brand, try the brands listed in this article, as they are gluten-free in most states. 

Stay tuned with Nothing Gluten to know if your favorite foods or drinks such as Angry Orchard, Nerds, or Ramen are gluten-free or not. 

A 23-year old tech geek with a passion for health and fitness, Jim is here to help you follow a healthy, gluten free life. The details provided by this student are simple enough for everyone to understand - and based on experience and research. While he doesn’t claim to be a health expert, he is dedicated to providing the best advice that he himself would follow.