Is Ginger Beer Gluten Free? Is It Wheat Free?

Is Ginger Beer Gluten Free

People who want to enjoy the taste of beer but don’t prefer alcoholic beverages can try ginger beer. It’s a sweetened and carbonated beverage with zero alcohol. Even though ginger beer is healthier than other carbonated drinks, what bothers some people is its gluten status. 

Quick Answer

Ginger beer may or may not be gluten free. Although ginger beer does not require wheat or barely, most makers use additional flavorings which may contain gluten.

Does that mean celiacs cannot drink ginger beer? Not really. You can still have ginger beer, but you must be careful of a few things. What are they? Well, to know them, you must go ahead and read this complete article. 

Is Ginger Beer Gluten Free Or Not?

Is Ginger Beer Gluten Free Or Not

Ginger beer is naturally gluten free. It’s made from ginger and some spices which are not barley or wheat-based. Most people often confuse ginger beer with other wheat or barley-based beer due to its name. 

But the original ginger beer recipe does not require any grain. But things are not always this easy. Current gingers beers are mostly manufactured and not brewed. Makers use artificial and natural colors, flavors, and other additives to make ginger beer. 

Most of these additives contain gluten making it unsafe for anyone having issues digesting gluten. So the best option for you would be to pick plain ginger beer without any color or artificial flavors. 

Don’t forget to read the ingredient label. A gluten safe ginger beer should only contain- ginger, water, and sugar. Sometimes it may contain a few herbs and spices but nothing else. If you see other names than these natural ingredients, don’t consume them. 

What’s Ginger Beer Made Of?

Ginger Beer making process

This non-alcoholic beverage is made from fermented ginger, sugar, and water. Yeast and cream of tartar are added for the fermentation process. Some prefer to add other spices like cinnamon and star anise to make it more aromatic. 

People think both ginger beer and ginger ale are the same. However, the tastes of the drinks are quite different. Ginger ale has a sweeter taste, while ginger beer is more on the spicier side with a strong ginger flavor. 

Must-Try Gluten-Free Ginger Beer Brands 

The following are some of the best gluten free ginger beer brands you must try. These are safe and celiac friendly- 

best Gluten-Free Ginger Beer Brands 

#1. Fever Tree Premium Ginger Beer

Fever Tree ginger beer is made by a blend of three ginger obtained from Nigeria, Ivory Coast, and Coaching. The other ingredients used are- sugar, ginger root, and carbonated water. It does not have a very sweet taste and has very strong ginger flavors. 

#2. Cock’N Bull Ginger Beer

Cock’N Bull is another reliable brand for celiacs. The makers produce ginger beer with sugar and ginger root, which brings in spicy ginger flavors. There are no other additives and flavorings, making it one of the best options for celiacs. 

#3. Old Jamaica Ginger Beer

People facing gluten digestion issues can also go for the Old Jamaica Ginger Beer. Ingredients in these beers are- sugar, carbonated water, ginger root extract, and sucralose sweetener. All the ingredients are gluten free; hence it’s a must try the brand. 

#4. Hollows & Fentimans Ginger Beer

Hollows & Fentimans ginger beer is also made from all natural ingredients. There are no artificial colors, flavors, or additives that can contaminate the beer with gluten. This is a certified gluten free brand, so celiacs can definitely consume it. 

#5. Reed’s Ginger Beer

Reed’s is another safe ginger beer for people having trouble with gluten. The beer is made with a blend of natural ingredients like- ginger, lemon juice, pineapple juice, lime juice, honey, and some spices. Reed’s ginger beer has three varieties- Original, Extra, and Sugar Free Extra. 

When Does Ginger Beer Contain Gluten?

When Does Ginger Beer Contain Gluten

It’s essential to read the ingredient label to find out hidden gluten in ginger beer. As I mentioned earlier, gluten free ginger beer should only have three core ingredients- sugar, ginger, and water. Yeast and cream of tartar are used to ferment the drink, and these two ingredients are gluten free as well. 

But if you see other ingredients like- artificial flavorings, colors, preservatives, and other additives, there is a high chance of the drink containing gluten. Therefore, it’s best to go for original ginger beer and avoid the flavored ones. 

Is Ginger Beer Vegan-Friendly?

Is Ginger Beer Vegan-Friendly

Ingredient wise, ginger beer is vegan-friendly because it’s made from plant-based ingredients. But some brands use Isinglass which is derived from fish making ginger beer unsuitable for celiacs. 

For example, Crabbies Ginger Beer is not gluten free because it contains Isinglass. Likewise, there are other brands that use this collagen for clarification of beer. Vegans should check the product label before picking their ginger beer to avoid Isinglass. 


Q: Does Ginger Beer Have Dairy? 

A: No, ginger beer does not have dairy like- milk, cream, or egg. It contains all plant based ingredients like- ginger root, sugar, and carbonated water. 

Q: Can Celiacs Have Ginger Beer? 

A: Celiacs can only have the original ginger beer that does not add artificial flavors and ingredients. Ginger beers made from only ginger root, water, and sugar are safe for celiacs. 

Q: Is Ginger Beer With Yeast Gluten Free? 

A: Yes, ginger beer with yeast is gluten free. Yeast is not similar to gluten grains hence ginger beer made with yeast is gluten free. 

Q: Does Bundaberg Ginger Beer Contain Gluten? 

A: No, Bundaberg ginger beer does not contain gluten. It’s 100% gluten free and safe for anyone living with gluten allergies. 

Q: Is Ginger Beer Healthy? 

A: Ginger beer is healthier than most alcoholic and non-alcoholic carbonated drinks. It has all natural ingredients and not too much sugar. 


Finding gluten free food is all about making conscious choices. There are both gluten free and non-gluten free ginger beers on the market. So you must go through the product label while you get your ginger beer. 

Try picking brands that label them as gluten free and don’t use any artificial additives. It is the best way to avoid gluten in ginger beer. Nothing Gluten will keep updating you about all gluten free foods, so keep following!

A 23-year old tech geek with a passion for health and fitness, Jim is here to help you follow a healthy, gluten free life. The details provided by this student are simple enough for everyone to understand - and based on experience and research. While he doesn’t claim to be a health expert, he is dedicated to providing the best advice that he himself would follow.