Going gluten free isn’t easy. Whether you are eating gluten free due to gluten intolerance or following a healthy lifestyle, you need to make conscious food choices. When it comes to chocolates like Rolos, not getting tempted is a task.
But celiacs or gluten intolerant people cannot have them until they get complete allergen information. What is the gluten status of Rolos? Are Rolos Gluten Free?
Rolos don’t contain any gluten inducing ingredients, but these caramel toffees are not certified gluten free.
I’ll discuss more Rolos and what Hershey’s has to say about its gluten status. To get complete details, continue reading this article.
Table of Contents
Are Rolos Gluten Free?
Rolos has no gluten ingredients, as declared on Hershey’s website in all Rolo chocolates except Rolo minis. However, the Rolos don’t bear a gluten free tag, which indicates the chances of cross-contamination.
Even if a product doesn’t contain gluten ingredients, we cannot declare them completely gluten free until they adhere to certain conditions. Apart from not containing gluten, a product must pass a gluten free test under the FDA guidelines.
Such a test ensures that the product contains less than 20ppm gluten and is made in a gluten free facility without using shared utensils.
Since Hershey’s Rolos don’t bear the gluten free tag, it means that it has not undergone the particular test. Moreover, Hershey’s also makes products containing gluten and Rolos that are made in the same facility; hence the risk of cross-contamination is always there.
After considering all these factors, if you would ask me whether celiacs or gluten sensitive people should have Rolos or not, my answer would be a strict no. People intolerant to gluten should only eat or drink food that comes with a gluten free label.
Related Posts:- Is Powdered Milk Gluten Free?
What Are Rolos? What Ingredients Are There In Rolos?
Rolos are chocolate candies with caramel inside. The name Rolos signifies the rolled shaped packaging these candies come in. In the United States, Rolos are made by Hershey’s company, but in other places, Nestle is the producer.
Ingredients used in Rolos are-
- Corn syrup
- High fructose corn syrup
- Milk chocolate (nonfat milk, sugar, cocoa butter, soy lecithin, milk fat, lactose, PGPR emulsifier, and artificial vanilla flavor)
- Hydrogenated vegetable oil (soybean oil and palm kernel oil)
- Nonfat milk
Less than 2% of
- Baking soda
- Artificial vanilla flavor
- Palm kernel oil
These ingredients are not gluten derived, so ingredient-wise, Hershey’s is entirely gluten free. Only the manufacturing and processing system put a question mark on the gluten status of these chocolates.
Are Rolos Healthy?
The high sugar, artificial flavorings, and saturated fat do not make Rolos healthy for everyday consumption. For instance, a 100g pack of Rolos contains 59g sugar and 11.2g saturated fat, which is not at all good for daily consumption.
Here is a detailed look at Rolos and their nutritional facts per 100g
|Energy||2011 Kjl (480 kcal)|
|Total fats||20.8 g|
|Of which saturated fat||11.2 g|
Are Rolos Dairy-Free & Vegan?
No, Rolos are not dairy-free and vegan. Milk is one of the prime ingredients of Rolos, which is an animal product, so we can’t include Rolos in the vegan category. Vegans have to find similar vegan alternatives to Rolos if they want to enjoy the candy.
Check Out This Homemade Gluten Free Rolos Recipe
Eating Hershey’s Rolos is not an option for celiacs as these have the risk of cross-contamination. But celiacs or gluten sensitive people can still enjoy this caramel filled chocolate with this easy gluten free recipe.
Here are the ingredients you’ll need along with the cooking procedure-
- One gluten free milk chocolate bar (you can use chocolate chips as well)
- 15 ml milk or cream
- 12 caramels (you can make your own caramel as well)
- Silicone chocolate mold
- Small paint brush or straw
Melt chocolate in a double boiler or the microwave. If you are melting it in the microwave, use burst for 25 seconds, stir the chocolate and then again burst for 25 seconds.
Fill the melted chocolate in the silicone molds till it fills ⅓ of the cups. Using the straw or paint brush, paint chocolates up around the silicone molds to ensure the caramel is completely covered in chocolate. Keep the silicone molds in the refrigerator for 15 to 20 minutes until the chocolate sets.
Now melt the caramel and cream in the microwave using the same 25 seconds burst method you did with the chocolate until it melts completely.
Take the chocolates out of the refrigerator. Fill caramel in the chocolates and cover it up using some more melted chocolate. Keep them in the refrigerator again until it completely sets. Take them out from the silicone molds and enjoy your homemade gluten free rolos.
There are no gluten ingredients in Rolos, but the chocolates don’t bear a gluten free tag.
Most probably, Hershey’s makes Rolos and other gluten-containing products in the same facility using shared utensils, and chances of cross-contamination prevail.
It’s better for celiacs to avoid having Rolos if they don’t want any gluten allergies. You can try my gluten free Rolos recipe that tastes as good as the packaged ones.
Are M&Ms Gluten Free?
Except for the M&Ms Pretzels and Crispy, all Mars candies are gluten free and safe for gluten sensitive people to consume.
Are Rolos Gluten Free In Canada?
Rolos in Canada are made using the same ingredients as they are made in the US. Although Rolos don’t contain any gluten ingredients, we still can’t declare it certified gluten free.
Are Mini Rolos Gluten Free?
No, Mini Rolos are not gluten free. Hershey’s has declared that all Rolo varieties are made without using any gluten ingredient except the Rolo Minis.
Are Milk Duds Gluten Free?
Yes, Milk Duds are gluten free, and no harmful ingredients are there, making them unsafe for celiacs.