Are Nerds Gluten Free? Really!

Are Nerds Gluten Free

Eating gluten free has taken a toll in recent times. Some people follow a no gluten lifestyle due to their sensitivity towards the protein compound, while others follow it for a healthy lifestyle. 

Now people have started questioning the gluten content of every food, and Nerd candies are on the list too. What is the status of Nerd candies? Are Nerds gluten free? 

No, Nerd candies aren’t gluten free. Although Nerds candies don’t contain any gluten ingredients, these are made in shared facilities that also process gluten. 

Keep reading this article to learn in detail about Nerds, whether celiacs should eat Nerds or not, and more related information. 

Are Nerds Gluten Free? 

Are Nerds Have Gluten

Nerds don’t have any gluten ingredients like wheat, barley, or anything belonging to the gluten family. So technically, Nerds should be safe for gluten allergic people. But that’s not the case. 

Declaring anything gluten free isn’t that simple. Numerous other conditions go into it. For instance, apart from the absence of gluten ingredients, makers should prepare the food in a gluten free facility. 

No shared utensils should be used while preparing gluten free food, and the final product should contain less than 20ppm gluten. Sadly Nerds don’t pass these conditions. 

Nerds don’t contain any gluten ingredients, but these candies are prepared in a shared facility that processes gluten products like wheat as well. Therefore these candies are not considered safe for celiacs and gluten-sensitive people.

Related Posts:- Is Ramen Gluten Free?

All About Nerds: The American Candy & Making Process

All About Nerds

The famous American candy makers, Willy Wonka Candy company, are the makers of delicious and colorful candies that are an absolute favorite among children and adults. The candies have been in the market since 1983; the pristine quality of these candies is what makes consumers repurchase them. 

The ingredients used in Nerds candy are- 

  • Dextrose 
  • Malic acid 
  • Sugar 

Less than 2% of- 

  • Artificial flavors 
  • Corn syrup 
  • Artificial color 
  • Carnauba wax 
  • Carmine color 
  • Blue 1 
  • Blue 1 lake 
  • Blue 2 lake 
  • Red 40 
  • Yellow 5 
  • Yellow 5 lake 
  • Yellow 6 
  • Yellow 6 lake 

Here is the nutritional information of Nerds Rainbow candy per 15 grams 

Calories  60
Total fat 0g
Saturated fat 0g
Trans fat  0g
Sodium  0mg 
Cholesterol  0mg 
Total carbs  14g
Dietary fiber  0g
Sugars  14g
Protein  0g 

Are Nerds Candy Dairy Free? 

Yes, Nerds candies are dairy-free. These don’t contain any dairy products like milk, cheese, cream, butter, and other products derived from dairy, which makes them safe for vegans and lactose-intolerant people. 

Candy lovers on a vegan and gluten free diet often also wonder about the gluten status of cotton candy. There is a separate guide on the gluten status of cotton candy; you can check here

Are Nerds Candy Healthy? 

Are Nerds Candy Healthy

Although nerds candies aren’t very high in calories, saturated fat, and unsaturated fat, these contain very high amounts of sugar. One mini box of nerds candy contains almost 12 grams of sugar, and consuming such a high amount of sugar isn’t at all healthy. 

Additionally, Nerds candy contains artificial colors and flavors, which may cause serious harm if eaten regularly. But like I always say, eating things in moderation isn’t harmful. If you have some serious sweet cravings and feel like crabbing some Nerds, go for it. Just don’t make consuming these chocolates a regular habit. 

Nerds candy Flavors & Nutritional Facts 

Nerds candy Flavors & Nutritional Facts

Here are the ingredient list of various Nerds candy and their nutritional facts- 

1. Nerds Twist & Mix 

Ingredients 

  • Sugar 
  • Dextrose 
  • Malic Acid 

Less than 2% of 

  • Natural flavors 
  • Corn syrup  
  • Carnauba wax 
  • Titanium dioxide (color) 
  • Red 5 lake 
  • Yellow 5 
  • Yellow 5 lake 
  • Blue 1
  • Yellow 6 
  • Watermelon juice concentrate 

Nutritional facts per 15g 

  • Calories- 60g
  • Total carbs- 15g
  • Sodium- 0g 
  • Total fat- 0g 
  • Total sugars- 14g 
  • Added sugars- 14g 
  • Protein- 0g 

2. Nerds Watermelon and Cherry 

Ingredients 

  • Sugar 
  • Dextrose 
  • Malic Acid 

Less than 2% of 

  • Natural flavors 
  • Corn syrup  
  • Carnauba wax 
  • Red 40 Lake
  • Yellow 5 
  • Blue 1
  • May contain eggs 

Nutritional facts per 15g 

  • Calories- 60g
  • Total carbs- 14g
  • Sodium- 0g 
  • Total fat- 0g 
  • Total sugars- 14g 
  • Protein- 0g 

3. Nerds Grape & Strawberry 

Ingredients 

  • Sugar 
  • Dextrose 
  • Malic Acid 

Less than 2% of 

  • Natural flavors 
  • Corn syrup  
  • Carnauba wax 
  • Carmine color 
  • Red 40 Lake
  • Blue 1 lake 
  • Blue 2 lake 
  • May contain eggs 

Nutritional facts per 15g 

  • Calories- 60g
  • Total carbs- 14g
  • Sodium- 0g 
  • Total fat- 0g 
  • Total sugars- 14g 
  • Protein- 0g 

4. Nerds Rainbow 

Ingredients 

  • Sugar 
  • Dextrose 
  • Malic Acid 

Less than 2% of 

  • Natural flavors 
  • Corn syrup  
  • Carnauba wax 
  • Carmine color 
  • Red 40 Lake
  • Blue 1 lake 
  • Blue 1 lake 
  • Blue 2 lake 
  • Yellow 5 
  • Yellow 5 lake 
  • Yellow 6
  • May contain eggs 

Nutritional facts per 15g 

  • Calories- 60g
  • Total carbs- 14g
  • Sodium- 0g 
  • Total fat- 0g 
  • Total sugars- 14g 
  • Protein- 0g 

Gluten Free Candy List: Safe For Celiacs 

Gluten Free Candy List

Since Nerds are not gluten safe and have the risk of cross-contamination, celiacs need some gluten free alternatives. I’ve done my research and found the below mentioned candies to be entirely gluten free and safe for celiacs. 

1. Starburst Candies

Starburst candies made in the U.S are gluten free, and they are also made in a dedicated facility, so chances of cross-contamination are also not there. These fruity chewy candies are absolute love!

2. Tootsie

Tootsie has a range of delicious candies, and all of these are gluten free. The makers have also declared that their candies are not made in shared facilities, so the risk of cross-contamination is also not there. 

3. Jelly Belly

The delicious jelly bean flavors of Jelly Belly are all gluten free. Not only that, Jelly Belly candies are gluten free, dairy-free, and fat free, so apart from gluten sensitive people, all vegans and vegetarians can also have them. 

Conclusion 

That was everything about Nerds candies. It’s safe to say that Nerds candies are not entirely gluten free. Even though there are no gluten ingredients in these sweet treats, they are made in a facility that also processes gluten. 

I have provided some gluten free alternatives to Nerds that celiacs can eat without worrying about gluten sensitivity. Check them out, and let me know your thoughts. 

FAQs 

Are Nerds Candy Canes Gluten Free? 

No, Nerds Candy Canes aren’t gluten free. These are made with shared equipment; hence the chances of cross-contamination make them unsafe for celiacs. 

Are Nerds Ropes Gluten Free? 

No, Nerds Ropes are also not totally gluten free. As they are made in shared facilities, the chances of cross-contamination make them unsafe for gluten sensitive people. 

Are Nerds Candy Vegan? 

All nerds candies are not vegan. A couple of Nerds candies like Watermelon & Cherry, Rainbow, and Grapes & Strawberry may contain eggs. 

Is Starburst Gluten Free? 

Yes, Starburst candies are gluten free with no wheat or barley, but Starbust available outside the U.S isn’t gluten free. 

Rishasri Kashyap
A passionate lifestyle and food blogger making you familiar with the secrets of following a healthy diet. My passion of exploring different cuisines and different lifestyle have helped accumulate experience that’s beneficial for people following a gluten free diet.