Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Gluten Free?

Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Gluten Free

We can’t think of starting our day without breakfast cereal, right? And it feels like heaven when we have the cinnamon twist in it, an iconic flavor that Cinnamon Toast Crunch is known for. However, if you have celiac disease or are allergic to gluten, it gets you wondering, is Cinnamon Toast Crunch gluten free?

The primary ingredient of Cinnamon Toast Crunch is whole wheat. So, it is not gluten-free and is not safe for people allergic to gluten. Besides, this breakfast cereal also has Soy Lecithin. So, if you are allergic to lecithin, you shouldn’t consume it.

Cinnamon Toast Crunch is also loaded with sugar and fructose. So, you shouldn’t consume it regularly to keep your sugar intake on the safer side. But is that all? Let’s understand if this breakfast cereal is healthy to eat or not in detail!

Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Gluten Free?

Cinnamon Toast Crunch is now available in many variants and flavor options to choose from. However, the original flavor is still the most popular and highest-selling breakfast cereal from the product line. But, if you have gluten allergies or have celiac disease, you should know about its gluten content before consuming it.

Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Have Gluten

This breakfast cereal is primarily made of whole grain wheat, rice flour, sugar, fructose, dextrose, canola oil, salt, cinnamon powder, soy lecithin, artificial caramel coloring, and flavoring agents. So, the base ingredient, whole grain wheat, does have gluten in it, thus making the cereal not safe for celiac patients.

The manufacturer itself printed on the label that this cereal “contains wheat and soy” to help people identify its base ingredients and allergens. Besides, it has also never been disclosed if Cinnamon Toast Crunch is manufactured, processed, and stored in gluten-free facilities or not.

So, it is certain that you shouldn’t consume this cereal even in a small portion if you are allergic to gluten contents. However, if you love the taste and flavor of this cereal, you can try Cinnamon Chex, which is made of rice flour and is completely gluten-free. It also goes well with a gluten-free diet.

Related Posts:- Is Oyster Sauce Gluten Free?

What Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch?

What Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch

General Mills and Nestlé now manufacture Cinnamon Toast Crunch. It is a popular breakfast cereal all over the globe with massive sales. This cereal is known as Curiously Cinnamon in the United Kingdom and Croque-Cannelle in French Canada. It also has a tiny variant called Cini Minis, which is now available in several Latin American and European countries.

Cinnamon Toast Crunch was first introduced to the consumer market in 1984. And due to its unparalleled taste and flavor of the sugar and cinnamon contents, it instantly became a huge hit. Since then, it has grown into a multi-flavor brand offering various kinds of breakfast cereals in its product line.

It was first branded with a mascot named Wendell. However, it was later replaced with the “Crazy Squares” mascot. One of the most distinctive characteristics of Cinnamon Toast Crunch is that it is puffed, which is quite uncommon in breakfast cereals. And because of that, you can hear the snapping sound once you dip it in milk.

Are Breakfast Cereals Gluten Free?

Are Breakfast Cereals Gluten Free

You should have the right understanding of breakfast cereals. And if you have gluten allergies, or are following a gluten-free diet, or have celiac disease, you must know about the gluten content of any breakfast cereal before consuming it.

Breakfast cereals are primarily made of wheat and barley, although several companies now offer rice-based or corn-based cereals as well. But, most manufacturers still stick to wheat and barley, which make them full of gluten content. And those products are not safe for people having gluten allergies.

So, it is better to check the labels first to know if the product has any wheat or barley contents in it. Besides, you should also check the artificial flavoring and coloring agents, as those can also have gluten contents. However, you should stick to rice or corn-based breakfast cereals to be on the safer side.

Besides the ingredients, the production and storage are also important to know if any particular cereal is gluten-free or not. If those are not manufactured or stored in certified gluten-free facilities, there is always a chance of cross-contamination. 

Gluten Free Alternatives To Cinnamon Toast Crunch 

It is evident that Cinnamon Toast Crunch is not gluten-free. However, if you enjoy the taste of this puffed goodness, there are several companies that now make certified gluten-free cereals to give your tastebud a ride. And we have picked five such products that you can consume if you have gluten allergies.

Gluten Free Alternatives To Cinnamon Toast Crunch

Chocolate Rice Chex: Made with whole grain rice, a single serving (43 grams) of Chocolate Rice Chex has just 180 calories (220 calories with ½ cup skimmed milk). Besides, it has 3.5 grams of fat, 36 grams of carbohydrate, 2 grams of dietary fiber, 2 grams of protein, 11 grams of added sugar, and 270 mg of sodium.

Van’s Cinnamon Heaven: Officially certified as gluten-free, this breakfast cereal is primarily made of brown rice, millet, amaranth, coat, and quinoa. A single serving of this cereal has 17 grams of carbohydrate and 5 grams of dietary fiber. Besides, it also has non-GMO expeller pressed canola oil.

Panda Puffs™ Cereal: Panda Puffs are not just gluten-free but also officially certified non-GMO and USDA organic. Besides, it doesn’t use any artificial coloring or flavoring agents. A single serving of this breakfast cereal has 9 grams of whole grains with dietary fiber. However, it has peanut butter and organic soil oil in it.

Post Cocoa Pebbles: Made of rice grain and real cocoa, Cocoa Pebbles from the house of Post is officially certified as gluten-free. A single serving of it has 31 grams of carbohydrate, 1 gram of dietary fiber, 2 grams of protein, and 12 grams of sugar. Besides, it has 220 mg of sodium and 60 mg of potassium.

Barbara’s Organic Brown Rice Crisps: Primary made of whole grains brown rice and organic pear or apple juice concentrate, this one is also officially certified as gluten-free. A single serving of this breakfast crisps has 33 grams of carbohydrate, 1 gram of dietary fiber, 1 gram of added sugar, 3 grams of protein, and just 1 gram of fat.

Homemade Gluten Free Cinnamon Toast Crunch Recipe

If you are still worried about Cinnamon Toast Crunch being gluten free or not, you should make your own Cinnamon Toast Crunch in your home. And if you do that, you’ll have complete control over the ingredients. It is also easy to make it in your home with basic ingredients.

Homemade Gluten Free Cinnamon Toast Crunch Recipe
Cinnamon Toast Crunch

Ingredients

For Cinnamon Toast Crunch – 

  • Almond flour: 1 cup
  • Oat flour: ¾ cup
  • Coconut sugar: ¼ cup
  • Flaxseed: 3 tbsp (ground)
  • Cinnamon: 2 tsp (ground)
  • Banana: 2 tbsp (mashed)
  • Vanilla extract: 1 sp (organic)
  • Salt: 1 pinch (according to taste)
  • Water: 2 tbsp

For Cinnamon Sugar –

  • Coconut sugar: 1/3 cup (dust)
  • Cinnamon: 1 tsp(ground)

Procedure

  1. Add 1 tsp of cinnamon powder with 1/3 cup of coconut sugar. Mix well and set it aside.
  2. Put the almond flour, oat flour, coconut sugar, grounded flaxseed, cinnamon powder, and salt in a stand mixer and mix it well.
  3. Add mashed banana, vanilla extract, and water to the mix. Stir it well until it becomes a soft dough.
  4. Take two pieces of parchment and place the dough in between them. Roll the dough until it becomes very thin (Around 1.5 mm).
  5. Remove parchment paper from upside, brush water in the dough, and sprinkle cinnamon sugar mix.
  6. Flip the dough upside down and repeat the same process to nicely coat the entire dough with cinnamon sugar mix.
  7. Take a sharp knife or pizza cutter and cut the dough into tiny pieces.
  8. Place the pieces in a baking tray so that they don’t touch each other.
  9. Preheat your oven until it reaches 375 F.
  10. Put the baking tray in your oven and bake for around 10 to 11 minutes.
  11. Let the pieces cool down for an hour to ensure proper crispiness, and serve it with warm milk.

Final Words

There is no doubt that Cinnamon Toast Crunch is absolutely delicious and feels like heaven when you take it with cold milk.

But is Cinnamon Toast Crunch gluten free? It certainly isn’t. It uses whole grain wheat as the base ingredient, which makes it full of gluten. And if you are severely allergic to gluten or have celiac disease, you shouldn’t consume it even in a small portion.

Besides, it is also vegan as it doesn’t use any animal-derived ingredients. However, this breakfast cereal is full of sugar, fructose, and dextrose, which is not good for your health if you consume it every day.

FAQ

Does Cinnamon Toast Crunch popcorn have gluten?

No, the Cinnamon Toast Crunch popcorn called Cinnadust Glaze doesn’t have any gluten content in it. It is primarily made of popcorn, rice flour, corn syrup, canola oil, and brown sugar syrup. However, this popcorn does have added sugar and soy lecithin.

What cereal is safe for celiac patients?

You can stick to Chex, as almost all the flavors of Chex are primarily made of whole-grain rice flour and don’t have any gluten content. Besides, you can also try Van’s Cinnamon Heaven, which is primarily made of rice four, millet, quinoa, and amaranth. You can even try Panda Puffs™ Cereal which is absolutely safe for celiac patients.

How can you tell if a cereal is gluten-free?

Every gluten free cereal manufactured or processed in the USA must have a “gluten free” label on it. Besides, you should check the ingredients to know if it has any wheat or barley contents. You must also check if that is manufactured and stored in gluten-free facilities; otherwise, it may have gluten content due to cross-contamination.

Is Cinnamon Toast Crunch Cinnadust shake gluten-free?

Yes, the Cinnamon Toast Crunch shake is completely gluten-free. Besides, it is also officially certified as dairy-free, soy-free, canola-free, and, most importantly, sugar-free. All three variants of this delicious shake are manufactured and stored in gluten free facilities.

Jim
A 23-year old tech geek with a passion for health and fitness, Jim is here to help you follow a healthy, gluten free life. The details provided by this B.tech student are simple enough for everyone to understand - and based on experience and research. While he doesn’t claim to be a health expert, he is dedicated to providing the best advice that he himself would follow.