Is Yuengling Gluten Free? Really!

Is Yuengling Gluten Free

Famous for its refined taste and crisp flavors, Yuengling is America’s oldest beer brand. Due to its unique flavor and taste, Yuengling has been the top pick when it comes to beers. But wait, what about its gluten content? Is Yuengling gluten free? 

No, Yuengling beers are not gluten free. They have different beer varieties like Yuengling Light, Golden Pilsner, Light Lager 99, etc., and both of these contain gluten. Therefore, Yuengling does not fit in your no gluten diet. 

Throughout this article, we’ll discuss details about Yuengling beer and its gluten content. We’ll give you all details, from the ingredients to the manufacturing process so let’s get started. 

Is Yuengling Gluten Free? 

Bunch of Yuengling Bottles

Yuengling is not gluten free. Yuengling makers have stated on their website that they do not make gluten beers, hence their beers are not safe for celiacs or anyone living with gluten allergy. 

Yuengling beers contain barley, which is a gluten grain; therefore, if you are allergic to gluten, you must not consume Yuengling. Beers are malted beverages; hence they don’t undergo a distillation process, so the presence of gluten is irreplaceable. 

The gluten content here is also above 20ppm so there are no ways celiacs or gluten allergic people could have this drink. in case if you drinking vodka you should try Gluten Free Tito’s Vodka.

What Is Yuengling Beer Made Of? 

Yuengling Beer in freezer

Since I am allergic to gluten, I never tasted the beer myself. But when I visited the liquor store, I picked up a couple of Yuengling bottles to see what ingredients were there. 

So the common ingredient in all the flavors is- barley and barley products, caramel malt, cluster hops, cascade, corn grits, cereal, and its derivatives and other derivatives as well. 

Yuengling has multiple flavors like- Traditional Lager, Light Lager, Golden Pilsner, Black & Tan, Raging Eagle, Flight, and a few more flavors. Barley is present in all of these flavors, so sadly, there are no options for people looking for a gluten free beer in Yuengling. 

Let’s also have a look at the nutritional information of Yuengling Light Lager per bottle 

NutrientAmount per serving
Total fat0 g
Saturated fat0 g
Trans fat0 g
Cholesterol0 mg
Sodium0 mg
Dietary fiber0 g
Carbs10 g
Sugars0 g
Protein1.4 g

Nutrition Facts

1 servings per container

Serving Size354g

  • Amount Per ServingCalories128
  • % Daily Value *
  • Total Fat 0g 0%
    • Saturated Fat 0g 0%
    • Trans Fat 0g
  • Cholesterol 0mg 0%
  • Sodium 0mg 0%
  • Total Carbohydrate 10g 4%
    • Dietary Fiber 0g 0%
    • Sugars 0g
  • Protein 1.4g 3%

    * The % Daily Value tells you how much a nutrient in a serving of food contributes to a daily diet. 2,000 calories a day is used for general nutrition advice.

    What Are The Best Gluten Free Substitutes To Yuengling Beer? 

    Gluten Free Substitutes To Yuengling Beer

    Everybody knows beer is a malted beverage, so we assume that gluten will be naturally present. However, there are some brands that make gluten free beer without using wheat or barley malt. 

    Here is a list of some of the gluten free beers that are the best substitute for Yuengling 

    A&W Root Beer

    Root beers are getting more popular recently due to their amazing taste and being gluten free. A&W Root beer is one of the best in the category due to its smooth taste with a hint of sweetness. 

    Felix Pilsner

    The makers of Felix Pilsner use gluten free grains like- rice, millet, buckwheat, and sorghum to prepare their beers. Felix Pilsner has declared that their beers are safe for everyone with gluten allergies. 

    Redbridge Lager

    Here is another great gluten free beer you can have. Redbridge lager is a sorghum beer making it safe for celiacs. 

    Buck Wild Pale Ale

    This American style Pale Ale has a crisp, citrusy flavor with honey undertones. This gluten free beer is made from pale millet, pale rice malt, Chinook hops, and a few more gluten free ingredients. 

    Copperhead Copper Ale

    Manufactured by Alt Brew, Copperhead Cooper is also a gluten free beer. They make their beers with roasted millet for a chocolate and caramel taste. 

    Things Celiacs Should Consider When Buying A Gluten Free Beer

    Celiacs Should Consider When Buying A Gluten Free Beer

    Celiacs need to be extremely careful while picking any food or drinks. If a product is gluten free, they have to make it clear in their packaging and website and have to adhere to certain conditions. 

    Mentioned below are some of the conditions checking, with which you can tell if a beer is gluten free or not. 

    The ingredient label 

    If any beer contains gluten grains like- barley or wheat, they will add it to the ingredient label. If you find these on the label, it means it’s not the right beer for gluten sensitivities. 

    Check the brand’s website 

    The makers will always make it even clearer on their website if they use gluten grain in making the beers. Plus, checking the website is crucial to ensure if they prepare the beer in a dedicated distillery or not. 

    Sometimes the beers may not have any gluten ingredients, but they might get contaminated through shared utensils. Making products in separate facilities is important to avoid cross-contamination. 

    Ask for expert advice 

    If you are diagnosed with gluten sensitivity, you must have been following a prescribed diet. Therefore, no one better than your health expert can guide you better while picking a gluten free beer. 


    It’s pretty clear that Yuengling is not gluten free, so there are no ways you can drink it. But there are gluten substitutes for Yuengling, and you can safely opt for these. Make sure to check out the list of gluten free beers I mentioned and let me know if you liked them. 

    At Nothing Gluten, you’ll find gluten information on every food item, starting from salads and alcohol to desserts. So keep following to see more related posts. 


    Is Corona Beer Gluten Free? 

    Corona beer contains gluten as it is made from barley, but the final product has less than 20ppm gluten. Such a small amount of gluten is safe for even celiac consumption, but it’ll be better to consult your doctor about whether it is safe for you or not. 

    Does Yuengling Lager Contain Gluten? 

    Yes, Yuengling Lager contains gluten. Barley and barley derivatives are present in Yuengling Lager, so it is not free of gluten. 

    What Grains Are Used In Yuengling Beer? 

    Yuengling beers contain grains like- barley, corn, and a few types of cereal. 

    A passionate lifestyle and food blogger making you familiar with the secrets of following a healthy diet. My passion of exploring different cuisines and different lifestyle have helped accumulate experience that’s beneficial for people following a gluten free diet.