We can’t help but think of salsa when we think of Mexican food. The spicy, tangy condiment is eaten as a dip or as a tastemaker in various American foods. While it’s difficult to resist having the spicy sauce, is it safe for celiacs? Is salsa gluten free?
Salsa may or may not be gluten free. Most salsa recipes use white vinegar, which is distilled from wheat, so chances of little gluten presence might be there.
Let us find out in detail about this Mexican sauce and whether it’s safe for celiacs or not. We’ll see how salsa is prepared and if there are any ways of avoiding gluten. So to find these necessary details keep reading till the end.
Table of Contents
Is Salsa Gluten Free? What Ingredients Are Used In Salsa?
Salsa is gluten free most of the time, but not always. Salsa is made from tomatoes, chili, garlic, onion, lemon, salt, pepper, and a few other herbs and spices. While all these ingredients are gluten free, the ingredient that puts salsa in question is white vinegar.
White vinegar may be distilled from wheat. Even though it undergoes a distillation process, it still may contain very little gluten. Another thing that may add gluten in salsa is cross-contamination.
If the sauce is prepared in a shared facility, gluten may get added. Hence, to be safe, you should always check the ingredient label if you are buying a readymade one. But what about the ones served at restaurants?
You should ask the chef if they are adding any gluten ingredients or if they are preparing it in shared utensils.
Also Read:- Is Gelatin Gluten Free?
Is Salsa Healthy?
Salsa is made from fresh ingredients like tomatoes, herbs, garlic, onions, chilis, etc., so it’s a healthier dressing than most other dips. Salsa is rich in vitamin A & C and may help promote healthier skin.
Plus, vitamin A and C may also boost collagen production in the body. But when you pick packaged salsa, check the sodium content. Some might be very high in sodium so go for the ones with lesser amounts.
Salsa also has very little sugar, and there is no added fat, so you can enjoy the delicious sauce without feeling guilty.
Gluten Free Salsa Brands Safe For Celiacs
Since there are chances salsa may have gluten, it’s better to opt for labeled gluten free companies. Below mentioned are some of our top picks for gluten free pasta, which even celiacs can have.
Amy’s Kitchen Salsa
Made with fresh tomatoes, Amy’s Kitchen salsa is gluten free, vegan, and dairy free. They have four varieties- chipotle, mild, medium, and black bean & corn. All these flavors are gluten free.
Green Mountain Gringo Salsa
Another best gluten free salsa brand is Green Mountain. Its ingredients include tomatoes, onions, jalapeno peppers, tomatillos, apple, and serrano peppers.
Newman’s Own Salsa
Newman’s Own Salsa is certified gluten free and made with all fresh ingredients. The salsa replicates the authentic Mexican taste thanks to its makers.
The gluten free salsa on our list is this Pace one. It’s made with jalapeno peppers, crushed tomatoes, salt, onions, garlic, and a few other ingredients.
Homemade Gluten Free Salsa Recipe
The freshness and rich taste of homemade salsa are unmatched by the store bought ones. Here is a gluten free salsa recipe you can prepare at home that’ll taste much better than packaged ones. So without wasting any time, let’s jump right into the recipe.
- 1 sweet onion (diced)
- 6 tomatoes
- 1 clove garlic (minced)
- 1 medium sized green bell pepper (diced)
- 1 jalapeno pepper (diced and deseeded)
- 2 tbsp cilantro (finely chopped)
- 1 can tomato paste (use gluten free ones)
- ¼ tsp cumin powder
- 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
- Fill a bowl with ice and water and keep aside. Fill water in another bowl and let it boil.
- Make x shapes at the bottom part of each tomato and drop them in boiling water. One at a time. Let them boil for about one minute; then transfer into the ice water for about 2 minutes. Tomato skins should easily peel off. Using your finger, remove the skin using your fingers.
- Coarsely chop the tomatoes and put all the ingredients in a large saucepan. Bring everything to a boil and let the salsa simmer for about thirty minutes.
- Switch off the gas and let the sauce cool. Transfer salsa to a glass jar and keep it in the refrigerator. You can use it for up to 2 weeks.
While the veggies and spices used in salsa are gluten free, we cannot say the same for white vinegar. Additionally, you always have to be careful about cross-contamination. Check out the gluten free salsa brands we mentioned, which are safe for celiacs, or you can make your own gluten free salsa at home using our recipe.
Is Tostitos salsa gluten free?
Yes, Tostitos salsa is gluten free and does not contain any wheat, rye, or barley. The makers have included Tostitos salsa in their gluten free list.
Does tomato salsa have gluten?
You can make gluten free tomato salsa; all you have to ensure is the vinegar you’re using is gluten free.
Is salsa vegan?
Yes, salsa is vegan because it’s only made using vegetables, fruits, and herbs. All these are plant based ingredients.