Are Takis Gluten Free? Info And Facts

Are Takis Gluten Free

The spicy sour Takis is everyone’s favorite for its rich, intense taste. But people with gluten sensitivity can’t consume anything without knowing the full details about the product’s gluten substance. So can gluten allergic people have Takis? are takis Gluten free? 

No, Takis is not gluten free. As per the producer’s declaration Takis are made in a facility that processes gluten containing food. 

Since Takis are corn chips, people assume them to be gluten free. To avoid any gluten allergies, you should know full details about a food item before consuming it. After considering all crucial sides, I jotted down this article to help celiacs understand if they should have these corn chips or not. 

Are Takis Gluten Free? 

No, Takis are not gluten free. Since Takis aren’t made in a gluten free facility, there is a high chance of cross-contamination. It means that the chips may come in contact with other products containing gluten, which means it’s not safe for celiacs

Additionally, the ingredients in Takis aren’t also tested for gluten content meaning the ingredients may also contain gluten. Gluten may get added through the artificial color and flavor the makers add to the chips. 

Are takis Have Gluten
Commons Wikimedia

Celiacs consuming even the slightest gluten will face symptoms like nausea, bloating, headache, skin irritation, diarrhea, alternate constipation, weight loss, malnutrition, etc. 

To avoid such discomfort, it’s better to avoid Takis since there is a high chance you’ll experience these symptoms. 

Also Read:- Is Hunt’s Tomato Sauce Gluten Free?

All You Need To Know About Takis Spicy Chips 

Takis are made by Barcel, a subsidiary group of Grupo Bimbo. These are rolled corn tortilla chips that have a very intense spicy flavor. Takis first entered the food market in 1999, and the United States tasted these packaged rolled tortilla chips for the first time in 2004. 

These super spicy rolled tortillas are available in multiple flavors. The concept behind the rolled Takis shape is imitating the taquito, a stuffed rolled tortilla. Here is a look at the ingredients used in Fuego Hot Chili Pepper & Lime Tortilla chips- 

  • Vegetable oil 
  • Corn flour processed with lime 
  • Salt 
  • Sugar 
  • Citric acid 
  • Maltodextrin 
  • Monosodium glutamate
  • Onion powder 
  • Hydrolyzed soy protein 
  • Yeast extract 
  • Red 40 Lake 
  • Yellow 6 Lake 
  • Artificial and Natural flavors 
  • Chili pepper 
  • Soybean oil 
  • Sodium bicarbonate  

Are Takis Healthy? 

Is Takis Healthy

If you have Takis once in a while, there is no harm, plus it won’t disbalance your healthy diet. But consuming them on a regular basis is definitely not healthy since the snack is high in calories, fat, sodium, and carbs. 

Takis is also a highly processed food. Eating processed food is bad for your heart health and can cause type 2 diabetes and cancer. Therefore it’s best to eat Takis in moderation while being mindful of the quantity. 

Here are the nutritional facts Takis Feugo per 28g

  • Calories- 140
  • Protein- 2g
  • Carbs- 16g
  • Fat- 8g
  • Sodium- 16% of Daily Value 
  • Calcium- 4% Daily Value 
  • Iron- 2% Daily Value 

Can You Include Takis In Your Vegan Diet? 

Takis has a few vegan flavors, which you can definitely add to your vegan diet. These are completely free from any animal substance, so they are safe to eat by people on a plant based diet. 

Takis vegan flavors are- 

  • Original Feugo 
  • Dragon Spicy Sweet Chili Flavor 
  • Nitro 
  • Spicy BBQ Outlaw Flavor 
  • Blue Heat 

Best Gluten Free Alternatives To Takis 

Being allergic to gluten restricts you from eating a lot of stuff, including Takis. Does that mean you only have to confine your diet around plain simple food? Not really. There are so many gluten free alternatives to Takis which are equally spicy and tasty. Let’s check out a few best alternatives to Takis tortilla chips. 

Best Gluten Free Alternatives To Takis

The Better Chips

The Better Chips are one of the tastiest gluten free alternatives to Takis. These are made in a certified gluten free facility and come in multiple flavors as well.

Frito Lay Tostitos Tortilla Chips

There are multiple Frito Lay Tostitos tortilla flavors absolutely safe to include in your no gluten diet. These contain less than 20ppm gluten, which is safe for even celiacs as directed by the FDA. 

Kettle Brand

Kettle Brand has a range of spicy gluten free chips striking the perfect balance between flavor and taste. Kettle Brand, too, has many chips flavors to pick from, all of which are made in a gluten free facility. 

Garden of Eatin’ Tortilla Chips

Garden of Eatin’ tortilla chips does not contain any artificial flavors, colors, artificial preservatives, and hydrogenated oil. It’s certified gluten free, therefore, safe for gluten allergic people. 

Conclusion 

Takis aren’t gluten free and are not safe for celiacs at all. People with gluten sensitivity should only consume labeled gluten free products, and sadly Takis isn’t one of them. But you can try gluten free alternatives to Takis that I have listed in this guide!

FAQs 

Are Takis and Cheetos the same? 

No, Takis and Cheetos aren’t the same. Cheetos are puffed corn cheese, while Takis are more sour and crispy. 

Can gluten allergic people have Takis? 

It’s not safe for gluten sensitive people to have Takis since it is made in a facility that processes gluten products as well. 

are takis vegetarian? 

Not all Takis flavors are vegetarian, but they have quite a few vegan/vegetarian options. 

Rishasri Kashyap
A passionate lifestyle and food blogger making you familiar with the secrets of following a healthy diet. My passion of exploring different cuisines and different lifestyle have helped accumulate experience that’s beneficial for people following a gluten free diet.