Is Malibu Rum Gluten Free? We Know The Truth

Is Malibu Rum Gluten Free

Malibu is one of the world’s best-selling coconut flavored Caribbean rum with a smooth, refreshing taste. While everyone enjoys its fresh flavors, people with gluten allergies are skeptical about the drink. The question that keeps lingering in their minds is if Malibu rum is gluten free or not. 

Malibu original and a few Malibu flavors are gluten free. The liquor goes through the distillation process, which eliminates all gluten substances (if any). 

But that’s not enough information to make Malibu rum a safe drink for celiacs, which is why I bring you this guide to make you aware if you should have Malibu rum or not. 

I’ll also talk about the specific Malibu flavors, which are absolutely gluten free, plus there are some easy, tasty and refreshing Malibu cocktail recipes mentioned at the end of this article, so continue reading to access them. 

Is Malibu Rum Gluten Free? 

Malibu original, Malibu Black, and all Malibu Ready-to-drink (RTDs) cans are gluten free as declared by the makers. These flavors do not have ingredients like wheat or barley. Additionally, Malibu rums undergo a distillation process that gets rid of any gluten substance. 

Is Malibu Rum Have Gluten
Malibu Rum Drinks

The original Malibu rum is made from distilled molasses or sugarcane, sugar, water, and coconut flavoring. These ingredients aren’t derived from gluten substances; hence celiacs can rest assured that they will not get any gluten allergy after consuming it. 

Similarly, the other gluten free flavors by Malibu are also free from any cross-contamination with gluten substances. So next time you see Malibu original or Malibu RTDs, you don’t have to turn your head away. 

Also Read:- Is Uncle Ben’s Ready Rice Gluten Free?

How Is Malibu Rum Made? What Goes Into Its Ingredients? 

Malibu is made from molasses, which is a byproduct of refined sugarcane. Other ingredients added in the rum are water, sugar, and distilled coconut extract to bring you the real Caribbean taste. 

After the distillation process, the liquor is stored in oak barrels for up to two years to get you the top quality rum. Other Malibu rum flavors are made using the same process, but their flavoring ingredients may vary. 

Malibu’s alcohol content is low compared to other rums. Each bottle has 21% ABV, plus the drink has added sugars. The nutritional information of Malibu original per 100ml is- 

  • Calories- 188
  • Alcohol- 16.6g
  • Carbs- 18.1g
  • Fat- 0g
  • Saturated fat- 0g
  • Sugar- 18.1g 
  • Protein- 0g 
  • Salt- 0g

Nutritional Information of Popular Malibu Rum Flavors 

Malibu has introduced several amazing rum flavors that are a perfect addition to any party. Here is a list of the most picked flavors that consumers love for their unique taste and flavor. 

Nutritional Information of Popular Malibu Rum Flavors

My personal favorite pick is their original coconut rum since I like more plain and authentic tastes. Since I have already stated the nutritional information of the Malibu original above, here I’ll talk about the other flavors. 

Malibu Black Ingredients (Gluten Free)

  • Caribbean rum (distilled molasses/sugarcane)
  • Water 
  • Sugar 
  • Coconut flavor 
  • Added color (caramel) 

Nutritional Information (35% vol) per 100ml 

  • Calories- 237 
  • Alcohol content- 27.6 
  • Carbs- 10.4g
  • Fat- 0g
  • Saturated fat- 0g
  • Sugar- 10.4g 
  • Protein- 0g 
  • Salt- 0g

Malibu Watermelon Ingredients (Not labeled gluten free)

  • Caribbean rum (distilled molasses/sugarcane)
  • Water 
  • Sugar 
  • Natural flavor 
  • Citric acid 

Nutritional Information (21% vol) per 100ml 

  • Calories- 162
  • Alcohol content- 16.6 
  • Carbs- 11.4g
  • Fat- 0g
  • Saturated fat- 0g
  • Sugar- 11.4g 
  • Protein- 0g 
  • Salt- 0g

Malibu Lime Ingredients (Not labeled gluten free)

  • Caribbean rum (distilled molasses/sugarcane)
  • Water 
  • Sugar 
  • Natural flavor 
  • Citric acid 
  • Sodium citrate (acidity regulator) 

Nutritional Information (21% vol) per 100ml 

  • Calories- 163 
  • Alcohol content- 16.5
  • Carbs- 12g
  • Fat- 0g
  • Saturated fat- 0g
  • Sugar- 12g 
  • Protein- 0g 
  • Salt- 0g

Is Rum In General Gluten Free? 

Most rums are made from distilled sugarcane juice or sugarcane molasses, meaning they are gluten free. But sometimes, gluten may get added with added flavorings, spices, and other additives. 

Plus, if the rum is prepared in the same facility that also processes gluten products, it leads to a high chance of cross-contamination. 

Gluten Free Malibu Rum Alternatives: Our Top Picks 

Since not all Malibu rum flavors are gluten free, it’ll be great if you could find a few gluten free alternatives that are safe and easily available. After considering factors like availability, safety, taste, and quality, I have found the following rum brands as the best alternative for Malibu. 

Gluten Free Malibu Rum Alternatives

Bacardi Coconut Rum

It has notes of coconut, fresh vanilla, and brown sugar. Bacardi is easily available in the market and is entirely gluten free. 

Ingredients 

  • Essence of coconut 
  • White rum 

 Bacardi has multiple other gluten free flavors, so options aren’t limited. 

Koloa Kaua’i Coconut Rum 

This Hawaiian rum brings you a refreshing taste of lime, toasted coconut, and caramelized pineapple. 

Ingredients 

  • Sugarcane rum 
  • Toasted coconut 
  • Young coconut 
  • Cocoa flavors 
  • Water is sourced from mount Wai’ale’ale. This is filtered water through volcanic strata. 

Don Q Coco Rum 

Don Q Coco Rum is another best quality rum that’s gluten free and brings you the taste of mango, molasses, and pineapple. 

Ingredients 

  • Real coconut extraction 
  • Rum 

Captain Morgan Caribbean Coconut Rum 

Captain Morgan is probably one of the popularly consumed rum brands. There are multiple flavors to pick from, and this coconut one has the notes of spiced rum, citrus, and tropical fruit. 

Ingredients 

  • Vanilla twist 
  • Coconut 
  • Pineapple 
  • Tropical punch 
  • Long Island Iced tea 
  • Mai Tai 

Malibu Cocktail Recipes: Easy And Quick Recipes 

1. Malibu Bay Breeze

Malibu Bay Breeze
Malibu Rum Drinks

Ingredients 

  • 50ml Malibu Original rum 
  • 50ml pineapple juice 
  • 50ml cranberry juice 

Method 

Simply mix all the liquids into a shaker with ice and pour into a cocktail glass. Your Malibu bay breeze is now ready to enjoy!

2. Malibu Paloma 

Malibu Paloma

Ingredients 

  • 50ml Malibu original 
  • 25ml grapefruit juice 
  • 15ml lime juice 
  • 100ml soda water 

Method 

Mix all the drinks and pour them into a salt-rimmed cocktail glass; that’s it!

2. Malibu Rose Spritz 

Malibu Rose Spritz
Malibu Rum Drinks

Ingredients 

  • 25ml Malibu original 
  • 15ml fresh strawberry pulp
  • 100ml sparkling rose wine 

Method 

Mix everything into a glass, and your quick Malibu rose spritz is ready.

Conclusion 

Malibu has entirely gluten free rum flavors, which are absolutely safe for celiacs and people with gluten sensitivity. I have mentioned all the gluten free flavors of Malibu that you can include in your no gluten diet. 

Don’t skip the Malibu cocktail recipes I mentioned, and impress your friends at your next party!

FAQs 

Is rum safe for celiacs? 

Malibu Black, Malibu Original, and Malibu ready-to-drink cans are safe for celiacs and won’t induce any gluten allergy.  

What is Malibu rum made of? 

Common ingredients in each Malibu rum flavor are- Caribbean rum (distilled molasses), water, and sugar. They add flavorings and a few other ingredients in different flavors. 

Are all Malibu rum flavors gluten free? 

No, all Malibu rum flavors aren’t gluten free. 

Rishasri Kashyap
A passionate lifestyle and food blogger making you familiar with the secrets of following a healthy diet. My passion of exploring different cuisines and different lifestyle have helped accumulate experience that’s beneficial for people following a gluten free diet.