The chewy soft, colorful candies you see in candy stores have been a favorite for ages. Salt water taffies are not actually made of sea salt; instead, it’s a mix of sugar, butter, corn syrup, added color, and flavor. What is the gluten status of salt water taffies? Is salt water taffy gluten free?
All ingredients in salt water taffy are gluten, but the candy contains added flavorings that may contain gluten. If you’re celiac or gluten intolerant, you might want to watch out for this. Besides, if the salt water taffy brand does not label it as gluten free, it’s not safe for you.
There is more to know about salt water taffy, how much gluten it may have, if it falls under FDA gluten free guidelines a lot more. We will talk about everything here in this salt water taffy guide, so keep scrolling through.
Table of Contents
Is Salt Water Taffy Gluten Free?
To declare product gluten free, it should have less than 20ppm gluten content as per FDA guidelines. Besides, there should be no chances of cross-contamination, meaning the company should prepare it in a dedicated gluten free factory.
Does salt water taffy adhere to these conditions? Well, the answer will vary for each brand. Some brands might add wheat extract for texture and taste, while others might not.
Most salt water taffies are made of sugar, butter, corn syrup, added flavor, and color. While sugar, butter, and corn syrup are completely gluten free and contain no gluten extract, we can’t assure you the same about added flavor.
Sometimes, artificial flavors might contain gluten extract, making it unsafe for people with gluten sensitivity. Salt water taffies, which are labeled gluten free, are safe for people. It means these products are made in a safe gluten free factory, so there are no chances of cross-contamination.
Besides, these would also not have any added flavoring with gluten. So the best thing celiacs can do is check the product label or the brand website before getting their hands on any salt water taffy.
Read More:- Is Pacifico Gluten Free? Really!
What is Salt Water Taffy? An Overview
The tradition of making salt water taffy started in Atlantic City, New Jersey. It is made from a sticky mixture of sugar, vegetable oil or butter, cornstarch, and added flavorings. All the ingredients are boiled until they get tiny air bubbles.
The sticky dough is then rolled and cut into small pieces to get the salt water taffy. Currently, salt water taffy is available everywhere around the world. People love to have this chewy sweet treat as a mood buster or just to munch on to satisfy their sweet tooth.
There are multiple salt water taffy brands with numerous flavors to choose from, so you will find endless options for these colorful sweet treats. But is salt water taffy healthy?
Having this as an occasional treat won’t harm you, but don’t make eating salt water taffy a habit. It’s very high in calories, and there aren’t essential nutrients in the candy. Besides, excess sugar and salt will only cause you to harm in the long run.
Why Should Celiacs Stay Away From Gluten?
Gluten is a natural protein substance found in wheat, barley, rye, etc. Celiacs or gluten sensitive people cannot digest this protein substance; as a result, it may enter the small intestine, causing discomfort.
Gluten side effects may include minor symptoms like- headaches, bloating, nausea, constipation, fatigue, diarrhea, skin rashes, etc. But it may lead to major diseases like malnutrition, unnatural weight loss, intestinal damage, brain fog, anemia, to name a few.
People with minor gluten sensitivity may still have things with a slight gluten percentage, but celiacs should completely avoid gluten food. If eaten, they will surely face any of these mentioned side effects.
Famous Salt Water Taffy Brands
Here are some best salt water taffy brands that you can try if you haven’t already-
These are gluten free and sugar free taffies that will keep your smile intact without disbalancing your sugar intake levels. You get the Lollipop Clean Teeth taffy in five flavors- orange, grape, strawberry, pineapple, and cherry.
Enjoy the sweet and spicy taste of the Taffy Town Salt water taffies. These allergen free taffies are- gluten free, soy free, and nut free, so it’s safe to consume for most people.
Your kids would love the colorful unicorn taffies from Taffy Shop. These sweet treats are gluten free, peanut free, and come in secured packaging.
This Sweets salt water taffy is packed with flavors of chocolate, orange, vanilla, peppermint, cinnamon, pear, banana, huckleberry, so you get a burst of flavors in a single packet. These are not declared as gluten free taffy.
Taffy Town Sassy Sour Salt Water Taffy
Here is another gluten free, nut free, and soy free taffy by Sassy Town. Each package comes with flavors like orange, green apple, cherry, grape, and raspberry.
Try This Salt Water Taffy Recipe At Home
If you like experimenting with different recipes in your kitchen, you will definitely love this salt water taffy recipe. I’ve been making this candy for a long time, and my kids can’t stop praising it. Here is the recipe with all ingredients-
- 200gms sugar
- 1 tbsp unsalted butter
- 1 tbsp cornstarch
- 1 tsp salt
- ⅔ cup light corn syrup
- 120ml water
- 2 drops food color (any color of your choice)
- ½ tsp flavored extract (any flavor of your choice)
- Take a large pot with a candy thermometer and add sugar to it.
- Add cornstarch into the sugar and whisk until mixed well.
- Add all other ingredients- butter, corn syrup, salt, flavor extract and mix everything together.
- Cook in medium heat until the temperature reaches 250°F.
- Add food coloring and whistle well again.
- Grease a heat-proof dish, transfer the candy, and let it cool down.
- When it gets a bit harder, roll the taffy about 2cm thick and 76cm long.
- Make small bite-size pieces from it and wrap them in parchment paper.
- Your homemade salt water taffy is ready.
Nutritional info of homemade salt water taffy
Although most ingredients in salt water taffy are gluten free, the presence of artificial flavor puts the product in question. If you are on a gluten/wheat free diet or can’t digest gluten food, pick only those salt water taffies that are branded gluten free.
Have you tried any salt water taffies yet? Let us know your thoughts on the same.
Most Frequently Asked Questions on Salt Water Taffy
Does salt water taffy have wheat?
No salt water taffy does not have wheat. Its ingredients include- sugar, corn syrup, butter/vegetable oil, added color, and flavor.
Is salt water taffy keto-friendly?
Salt water taffy isn’t keto-friendly. It’s a high carb, high sugar food excluding it from the keto friendly food list.
Does salt water taffy have gelatin?
No salt water taffy does not have gelatin. It is rather a sticky chewy candy that is derived from sugar and butter,
What taffies are gluten free?
Whether taffies are gluten free or not will depend on the brand. If it does not contain gluten, the company will label it so.