Pibb Xtra is a soft drink and a product by the Coca-Cola Company. The company originally called the drink Peppo to show its resemblance with its competitor Mr. It’s a drink you can enjoy with your pizzas, burgers, and literally with anything. But can all people have Pibb Xtra? Is Pibb Xtra gluten free?
Pibb Xtra is gluten free as there are no wheat ingredients in the drink. But whether it’s safe for celiacs or not, that’s still a matter of concern. Coca-cola hasn’t labeled Pibb Xtra as a gluten free drink, so it may not be the best for people with gluten allergies.
We will talk in detail about Pibb Xtra and its gluten status throughout this article, so to find out the whole truth, continue reading this article.
Table of Contents
Is Pibb Xtra Gluten Free?
Pibb Xtra’s ingredient list contains- carbonated water, caramel color, high fructose corn syrup, phosphoric acid, potassium sorbate, potassium benzoate, natural and artificial flavors, caffeine, lactic acid, monosodium phosphate, polyethylene glycol.
None of these ingredients has gluten, so the drink is ideally gluten free. But for a food or drink product to be safe for celiacs or gluten sensitive people, it has to meet a few other conditions.
For instance, the company should prepare the drink in a completely gluten free factory. There should be no chances of cross-contamination, and lastly, it has to pass a gluten free test.
Coca-Cola does not label Pibb Xtra as gluten free, maybe because it has not undergone the gluten free test or they don’t prepare it in a separate gluten free factory. Hence, it may not be the safest drink for celiacs.
Related Post:- Is Jim Beam Gluten Free?
What is Pibb Xtra?
Pibb Xtra is a soft drink made by the Coca-Cola company. The drink was launched in 1972; the company then called it Peppo. In 1974, the company renamed it Mr. Pibb, and again in 2001, they changed its name to Pibb Xtra.
You will find two varieties of this drink, Pibb Xtra and Pibb Zero. Both these drinks are gluten free, meaning there is no wheat or malt extract.
As also mentioned in the above section Pibb Xtra is made from ingredients like- carbonated water, caramel color, high fructose corn syrup, phosphoric acid, potassium sorbate, potassium benzoate, natural and artificial flavors, caffeine, lactic acid, monosodium phosphate, and polyethylene glycol.
The drink has a caramel color and has a spicy cherry flavor. Here are the nutritional facts of both the Pibb Xtra flavors.
Pibb Xtra Original
nutritional facts per can
Nutrition facts per can
Popular Substitute to Pibb Xtra: Dr Pepper
Another soft drink that’s very similar to Pibb Xtra is Dr Pepper. In fact, Coca-Cola has made Pibb Xtra to replicate the taste of Dr Pepper. But what is Dr Pepper, and how does it taste?
Dr Pepper has been in the market since 1880, and the drink was invented by Charles Alderton. People love Dr Pepper for its unique taste, which is quite different from other soft drinks. It’s a blend of 23 secret ingredients which tastes neither like beer nor cola.
Ingredients used in Dr Pepper original are-
- High fructose corn syrup
- Carbonated water
- Caramel color
- Natural and artificial flavors
- Sodium benzoate
- Phosphoric acid
The nutritional facts of Dr Pepper original zero sugar 12 oz pack is-
Pibb Xtra is a gluten free drink, but it’s not labeled so. Although the product contains no gluten ingredients, we are not sure whether it’s made in a gluten free factory or not. Hence, if you have celiac disease, it may not be safe for you to consume Pibb Xtra.
Most Frequently Asked Questions About Pibb Xtra
Is Pibb Xtra Better than Dr Pepper?
The answer varies from person to person. Some like Pibb Xtra more as it does not have the aftertaste of Dr Pepper, while some still prefer the latter.
Does Pibb Xtra contain caffeine?
Yes, each can of Pibb Xtra contains 40 mg caffeine.
What makes Pibb Xtra Special?
Pibb Xtra has a special spicy cherry taste making the drink different from other Coca Cola soft drinks.