Is Glycerin Gluten Free? We Know The Truth

Is Glycerin Gluten Free

The advent of a gluten free diet has impacted a lot of people. Some people follow it for a healthy lifestyle, while some others are bound to avoid gluten due to gluten allergy or celiac disease. When it comes to additives like glycerin, it becomes difficult to find out their gluten status, so people often ask if glycerin is gluten free. 

Yes, glycerine is gluten free and has no harmful gluten substance. It’s a thick liquid made with natural oil, so it’s safe for gluten sensitive people. 

But living with gluten allergies requires much more detail about everything you are consuming. There are other factors that may add gluten to glycerine, so to know how to pick the right glycerine, continue reading this article. 

Is Glycerin Gluten Free?

Organic glycerin is gluten free, so it’s safe for celiacs as well. Gluten is mainly present in grains like wheat, barley, rye, etc. Glycerine or glycerol isn’t derived from wheat or barley abstracts; hence there are no chances of it being contaminated with gluten. 

But we can’t always do the same for every glycerine brand. Makers may make glycerine in the same utensils where they process gluten containing products. It induces the risk of cross-contamination, making the product unsafe for gluten sensitive people

Is Glycerin Have Gluten
Unsplash

Additionally, glycerine is an additive used mainly in processed or pre-cooked food items. Although glycerine does not contain gluten, we cannot say the same for the food items where glycerine is added. 

For example, glycerine is present in pre-cooked pasta, bread, or batters; most of these items are made from wheat, so these are definitely not gluten free. 

If you are buying glycerine to add to your home-cooked gluten free food items, don’t forget to check the product labeling. Pick only the ones that bear the gluten free tag. It will ensure the makers have produced glycerine in a dedicated gluten free facility, so there is no risk of cross-contamination. 

Related Posts:- Is Condensed Milk Gluten Free?

What Is There In Glycerine? How Is It Made? 

People have been using glycerine since the 1800s. This sugar alcohol is made from plants, animal products, or petroleum, and it’s a dominant ingredient in not only food but also in cosmetics, soaps, shampoos, etc. 

What Is There In Glycerine

The plant based glycerine is made from coconut oil, palm oil, or soy, mainly from plants that are rich in triglyceride. Manufacturers heat the oils with a strong alkali like Iye. On high heat, glycerine splits away from fatty acids and gets mixed with water; as a result, you get an odorless, colorless sweet syrup. 

The animal fat gluten is made by combining beef or mutton fat with water. You have to heat the concoction on medium heat until it reaches a thick consistency. Once done, store it in the refrigerator overnight. 

You have to boil the hard mixture again to remove excess water and impurities. Vegetable glycerine is more common in the market mainly because it’s cheap and easy to make.  

Which Food Contains Glycerine? 

A lot of food contains glycerine for sweetness, texture, and softness to retain moisture and prevent crystallization. Here are the names of some of the common food items with glycerine- 

  • Soft candies 
  • Cake icing 
  • Energy bars 
  • Beverages 
  • Creams 
  • Chewing gums 
  • Condiments 
  • Fondant 
  • Dried fruits 
  • Fudge 
  • Marshmallows 
  • Processed food and vegetables 
  • Gelatin 
  • Breakfast cereals 
  • Rolled oats 
  • Tapioca or rice puddings 
  • Ice creams 

These are just a bunch of names; there are a lot more food items that have glycerine. 

Vegetable Glycerine: Benefits And Side Effects

Vegetable Glycerine Benefits And Side Effects

Vegetable glycerine is a dominant ingredient in a lot of food products, mainly water, and oil based, as it helps retain moisture, softness, and texture. But there is a common query about glycerine, does glycerine have any health benefits? Glycerine has a few health benefits; let’s find out what these are. 

It may prevent constipation 

Glycerine can draw water into your gut, which helps food pass through the gut smoothly, which is why glycerine is often used as a suppository that effectively prevents and gives relief from constipation. 

Promotes skin health 

Vegetable glycerine promotes good skin health, heals wounds or cuts quickly, and protects your skin against irritants. Glycerine also works as good moisture during winters by working as a moisturizer. 

Boosts hydration 

Glycerine may help boost hydration in your body. Studies have shown that a glycerine drink is more effective in boosting hydration than regular water, which is beneficial for sportspersons or athletes. 

These are some of the potential benefits of glycerine. But what about its side effects? Are there any negative impacts of glycerine? 

Well, glycerine is considered safe in most parts, but undigested glycerine may cause dizziness, vomiting, headaches, excessive thirst, etc. Again if you consume too much glycerine, it may cause diarrhea and gastric issues. 

Is Glycerine Vegan? 

Vegetable glycerine is vegan as it’s made from boiling plant oil. It’s only plant based oil and water, so absolutely safe for people on a vegan diet. But not all gluten is vegan, as some are made from animal fat; therefore, check the package labeling if it contains the green label or not.

Summing Up 

Both vegetable and animal glycerine is gluten free. They are made either with plant oil or animal fat in combination with water. The thick liquid does not have any wheat extracts, but chances of cross-contamination are there if makers produce it in a shared facility. So don’t forget to check the product label and only pick the ones that say gluten free. 

FAQs 

Is glycerine made from animals? 

Yes, glycerine is also made from animal fat, mainly beef or mutton fat. But you get vegetable glycerine too. 

Is organic glycerine gluten free? 

Yes, organic glycerine is gluten free. It has only two ingredients: plant oil/ animal fat and water. 

Is vegetable glycerine gluten free? 

Yes, vegetable glycerine is gluten free. Most vegetable glycerine is made with coconut oil, palm oil, or soy by boiling them in water. 

Rishasri Kashyap
A passionate lifestyle and food blogger making you familiar with the secrets of following a healthy diet. My passion of exploring different cuisines and different lifestyle have helped accumulate experience that’s beneficial for people following a gluten free diet.