Is Psyllium Husk Gluten Free? Truth!

Is Psyllium Husk Gluten Free

Psyllium husk is a great supplement, and it has lots of health benefits. You can also use it in baked goods to retain moisture. While taking psyllium husk as a supplement or using it in baking recipes has become quite common, what we are concerned about is whether psyllium husk is gluten free or not. 

Psyllium husk is completely gluten free. The husks are extracted from the Plantago ovata plant’s seeds. The ovata plant’s seeds are not similar to the gluten grains like barley or wheat, hence are safe on a gluten free diet. 

We’ll cover everything about psyllium husk and their gluten status here in this article. To get complete details, keep reading till the end. 

Is Psyllium Husk Gluten Free? 

Is Psyllium Husk Have Gluten

Yes, psyllium husks are entirely gluten free. In fact, psyllium husk, seeds, and powder are all gluten free. Psyllium husks are extracted from the Plantago ovata seeds, which are not anything similar to gluten grains

Psyllium husk is a common substitute for xanthan gum or guar gum which are not quite safe for people dealing with gluten intolerance. Psyllium husk has become popular as a fiber supplement. If you also want to take psyllium husk supplements, ensure that no gluten ingredients are added to them. 

Psyllium Husk: What It Is And Where Is It Used? 

What It Is And Where Is It Used Psyllium Husk

Psyllium husk is a form of fiber. As I have said already, the husks are extracted from the seeds of the Plantago ovata plant. Research has shown that psyllium husk has numerous health benefits to offer; hence people started using it to make fiber supplements. 

You can also use psyllium husk in your baked goods. It keeps baked goods like cookies moist, thereby preventing them from cracking. Plus, you can add some psyllium husk to your oatmeal and smoothies to make them even healthier. 

Is There Any Health Benefit Of Psyllium Husk? 

Health Benefit Of Psyllium Husk

Some people call psyllium husk a superfood due to the myriad of health benefits it has to offer. Research has shown that taking psyllium is beneficial for our heart health and pancreas. 

Psyllium also improves our digestive health. It’s a bulk-forming laxative meaning it soaks up water in our gut and makes bowel movement easier. Psyllium also helps treat constipation. 

Psyllium is also a probiotic that helps grow healthy probiotics in our gut. Healthy bacteria in our digestive system help maintain healthy cells and tissues, reduce inflammation, and fight infection. 

Psyllium also helps maintain a healthy heart by lowering cholesterol levels. Overweight or obese people can hugely benefit from taking psyllium supplements to manage their cholesterol levels and weight.  

Even though psyllium is quite healthy, it has some possible side effects as well. You may experience the following side effects if you take more than the recommended amount or are new to taking psyllium. These side effects are- 

  • Diarrhea 
  • Gas 
  • Abdominal pain 
  • More frequent bowel movements 
  • Loose stools 
  • Nausea 
  • Vomiting 
  • Itching 
  • Swelling around the throat and face 
  • Skin rashes 
  • Difficulty in breathing 

If you face these side effects, call your doctor immediately. 

5 Best Gluten Free Substitutes To Psyllium Husk 

Mentioned below are some of the best gluten free psyllium husk substitutes that have the same thickening and binding properties. However, the following substitutes may not have the same health benefits as psyllium husk, but these will work perfectly in your smoothies, baked recipes, oatmeal, etc. 

#1. Flaxseed 


Flaxseed is one of the best psyllium husk benefits and has almost the same properties. Flaxseed is filled with omega-3, B vitamins, magnesium, fiber, healthy fats, lutein, zeaxanthin, phosphorus, etc. 

These antioxidants and minerals can lower the chances of diabetes, cancer, heart disease, stroke, etc. Flax seeds over the same fiber content as psyllium husk making them the best substitute. 

#2. Arrowroot Powder 

Arrowroot Powder

If you are looking for a similar thickener like psyllium husk, arrowroot powder is one of the best. You can also use arrowroot powder in baked goods like bread and biscuits, to thicken sauces, puddings, jelly, etc. 

Besides gluten free, arrowroot powder is vegan and dairy-free as well. 

#3. Tapioca Starch 

Tapioca Starch 

Tapioca starch is another great gluten free alternative to psyllium husk to use in your sauces and pies. Tapioca starch is rich in iron, calcium, and carbohydrate and is free from common allergens. 

#4. Cornstarch 


You can use cornstarch instead of psyllium husk for thickening your recipes. It’s vegan, gluten free, dairy-free, and found in almost every household easily. But you cannot use cornstarch in acidic recipes. 

For instance, if you have added lemon to your recipe, you can’t use cornstarch in it. Then you have to opt for other alternatives. 

#5. Chia Seeds 

Chia Seeds

Like psyllium husk, chia seeds are full of antioxidants, nutrients, and minerals like- omega-3, calcium, phosphorus, healthy fats, manganese, selenium, copper, magnesium, etc. 

Chia seeds help maintain a healthy heart by preventing cardiovascular disease risks. 


Hopefully, now you are clear about psyllium husk and its gluten status. As you have seen, it’s completely gluten free, and anyone dealing with gluten sensitivity can consume psyllium husk. 

Psyllium husk has lots of other health benefits and can cure health issues like constipation, improve your digestive health, etc. We’ll bring you a more informative guide on gluten free food on Nothing Gluten, so keep following to get regular updates. 


What Can You Do With Psyllium Husk?

You can add psyllium husk to your smoothies and oatmeal, add them to your cookie batter, and you can use it as a thickener too.  

Can Celiacs Eat Psyllium Husk? 

Yes, celiacs can eat psyllium husk. There is no gluten in the husk, so it’s completely safe for celiacs to have them. 

Is Psyllium Husk Extracted From Wheat? 

No, psyllium husk is not extracted from wheat. It is extracted from the seeds of the ovata plant, and it is not similar to wheat. 

Is Psyllium Husk Grain-Free? 

Psyllium husk is grain-free. However, the husk is extracted from ovata seeds, which are similar to grains. 

How Does Psyllium Husk Powder Help In Baking? 

Psyllium husk powder helps bind the dough and provides elasticity and flexibility to it. It makes kneading the dough easier. 

A passionate lifestyle and food blogger making you familiar with the secrets of following a healthy diet. My passion of exploring different cuisines and different lifestyle have helped accumulate experience that’s beneficial for people following a gluten free diet.